I Broke My Gibson SG Again - I Don't Know How Much More This Old Guitar Can Take

in #music6 years ago

Do you see anything wrong with this picture?

Look close.

20180219_195935.jpeg

I'll zoom it in a bit.

How about now?

20180219_195945.jpeg

OH NOOOOOOOO!

20180219_200000.jpeg

Looks like my last repair didn't last too long.

The glue didn't hold at all.

20180219_200006.jpeg

The first time I broke the neck on this guitar was way back; about 11 years ago I think. I remember it so well because this guitar is like my child - before my real child came along. You'd remember if your child broke their neck.

I was heading back from a little jam session at our drummers house. We used to practice at my place but we were having some issues with my room mate, who owned the house, and we had to start jamming somewhere else. We had finished for the night and my drummer was giving me a ride back to my place. I remember the exact bump that probably broke it. Even though the guitar was packed safely away in it's hard case, the bump was so big, it surely gave the guitar some air in the trunk. Probably enough to bang it off the top of the trunk and then smash it back down again.

On top of that hit which probably broke the neck, by the time I got to my house I forgot to take the guitar out of the car before it left. So much for it being like a child. So the car most likely hit the same bump going the other way just to seal the deal if, at that point, the neck hadn't broke.

I got the call shortly after my drummer had returned home. When he opened up the case, the neck was snapped just the same way as these pictures.

It was enough to make me feel sick to my stomach when I first saw it. This certainly wasn't my first guitar to break. I've even smashed a few guitars on purpose, which I encourage every guitar player to do at least once. Maybe not your favourite guitar, though. This was the most expensive guitar to break on me and I still can't believe it happened, even after all this time.

I managed to get the guitar fixed at a guitar shop and it held for over 10 years until this past December. It still sounded great and I had no issues with it until last December.

I'm a little pissed at how it broke the second time. I had the guitar on a portable guitar stand by my computer and I was just downstairs cleaning up a little bit. My son was "helping" me a little bit and I was cleaning up the guitar cords and wires. I took some guitar cords into the other room where I keep the extras and I remember looking at the guitar as I walked away.

"I'll hang that back on the wall in a second," I thought.

As I was in the other room, I heard a SMASH. I came back out and my guitar was laying face down on the floor and my son was standing there looking a little guilty. I picked the guitar up and sure enough the neck had snapped again. I was pretty pissed. If I had just put the guitar away before the cords, this could have been avoided. I know it's not my son's fault. He just bumped the stand and it fell forward. It was my fault for not having it hanging on the wall where it couldn't be bumped.

20180219_200015.jpeg

I used some Gorilla Wood Glue to glue it back together. I clamped it down nice and tight and left it there for a good two weeks before I had the nerve to unclamp it and hang it on the wall. I left it unstringed and hung it on the wall while I we travelled to Nova Scotia for the holidays. When I got back, I restrung it but I still didn't have the nerve to tighten the strings all the way and test it out.

It wasn't until almost the end of January that I finally decided to try it out. I tuned the guitar up the rest of the way and gave it a shot. Everything seemed to be holding and the guitar still sounded great, every string stayed tuned, and nothing was buzzing. It seemed pretty solid and didn't seem to wiggle or flex as I tightened the strings up.

Then last night I guess it let go. I went downstairs to play a little bit. It's kind of funny because I didn't notice it right away. I picked the guitar up, put the strap on, turned my distortion pedal on, sat at the computer with it in my lap, and opened up Reaper. I was giving my last bit of recordings a listen to see where I left off and I instinctively tried to just noodle on the guitar while I listened. I thought it was weird when I noticed the E string was super loose, but I first just thought it was the humidity because it's been really warm here compared to what it normally is. That's until I looked down and saw the neck snapped again.

It's super disappointing. I'm not sure how many more times I'm going to be able to glue this back together. You can see in the last picture that some of the glue held and it cracked in a different spot on the right side. I'm not sure why the glue didn't hold. It might have been the humidity after all, and it's just in one of those spots that are very vulnerable to the stress of the string tension.

20180219_200023.jpeg

So now I've really got my work cut out for me. I have to get that glue out of there as much as I can before trying it again. I know the Gorilla Glue doesn't want to hold, so what should I use? I'm thinking some Epoxy, but if that doesn't hold, I'll never be able to clean it out. On the other hand, as long as it soaks in a little bit, the Epoxy should hold it so it will never break there again. I'll have to make sure I really get the glue out of there before trying it, though.

This guitar sounds so nice compared to the rest of my guitars. I won't be giving up on it just yet, that's for sure. I don't even care about the look of it, it's that sound of it that matters. It's getting up there in years so it's got some noticeable wear and tear showing up now. The paint is worn off where my forearm rests on the body, the gold plating is turned silver where my hand rests on the bridge and pickups, there are numerous dents and chips in the head stock from hitting cymbals and stands, and there's a nice little chunk taken out where my old bass player dropped it right on the latch of it's case. Add all that to the cracked neck and this guitar has a ton of character. I hope I can keep it going for another few years yet and maybe add a little more character along the way.

Whish me luck and I welcome any advice anyone else might have had doing this kind of repair.

Sort:  

your problem is that soft polurethane based glue>!! should have used an epoxy "West System" repair with good even clamping! now it will be tough for the epoxy to find a good solid bed of aderence! its sad cos that is i know is one fine mother of a guitar )) good vibz to you @stephen.king989 ! ps what happemed to that epiphone sg you were selling on github ?

I realize now the epoxy should have been my first choice. The person who fixed it the first time said he used wood glue but it must hand been something harder. I'll be taking all that glue out before i try again but it will be challenging.

I never did sell the epiphone sg. Some people seemed interested but no takers.

Yeah well you will really have to get all of the crud out before you try the epoxy fix !! Take your time and do it will care, patience and all the love you hold for that beautiful guitar ! Then use an accurate weighing sclae when mixing the two componets of the epoxy as this is absolutely vital, dont do it by eye )) Id say use a little more hardner than the manufacturer recommends to be sure that it sets hard ! Then clamp it for 48 hours and then dont restring it for a few days ! Good luck with it @steven.king989 ! I liked that guitar you were selling but right now I am just sticking with my semi acoustic to work with its sound ))

Man that's hard to look at. I'd be so bummed... For a while I moved to Costa Rica and gave my guitar (also an SG, but an Epiphone) to my brother for safe keeping.After a few years, he decided I'd probably never want it back and it was his now - and he took all the stickers off it. The ones I put on it when I was 14-15 (I'm 37 now). The ones that were like my diary. The ones my first GF gave me. The ones I got when I traveled. The ones I got at Vans Warped Tour. Not gonna lie, I angry cried and I haven't touched it since. I don't even want to see it, it's in a closet at my parents house.... I get it, he thought I'd live in Costa Rica forever and I had other guitars there, so I forgave my brother, but still, it kinda sucks to think about it...lol

There is sentimental value to some guitars that can never be replaced. I also have a Yamaha RGX that is covered in stickers from it's travels. It is one of my first guitars and it's been through a hell of a lot more than my Gibson. I still enjoy playing that one too and it's holding up pretty good considering it's getting close to 20 years old. I also have an Epiphone SG and an Epiphone Les Paul that have absolutely no sentimental value at all lol. Some guitars have it and some don't. That really sucks about your SG, though. I'd say, as long as it's still in good shape, get that thing out of the closet and start adding more stickers. It won't get any more sentimental value from sitting in a closet:)

Nope but it won't make me angry at my brother every time I see it if it's in a closet either lol It is weird how some have that "magic" though. I have another SG that I started putting stickers on, but that first one was the one I saved high school allowances and birthday money for. I learned a lot more than just playing guitar from it! lol My new guitar has come to replace it though, now I have a double neck, a 6 string electric on the bottom with a 5 string bass on top. And I'll probably never put stickers on that one! lol

It’s still a beauty 👍
Keep rocking my friend 🎸

Hopefully I can keep rocking with this guitar and it doesn't become a wall ornament :)

I hope you can repair the guitar @stephen.king989 . That gorilla glue is suppose to hold a house together, 😃 No other suggestions on what to use but good luck glueing it back together.

Thanks. I thought it was pretty strong too and I've used it in the past on other things with great results. It was just too soft and the stress of the strings slowly pulled it apart again I guess.

Thats wont work even if you try to reattach it with super hard wood glues all the stress from the guitar string will break that part again. Its better to replace the whole part of the guitar..I know its hard to do because its feel not the same anymore about the sentimental value and the memory that you had with it. I gave mine to my little brother...Thanks

Can't do that. It's a real Gibson and the neck is glued right into the body. I think the epoxy will hold as long as I get all the old glue out. The glue held it for almost 10 years last time it broke so as long as it's a good solid epoxy I should be able to make it work.

man it hurts me!! why did you do this! LOL I wish I had one of these guitars :)

I've almost got all the bad glue out now and ready to try some epoxy. I'll have it back to new(newish) condition in no time. Hopefully in time for our next song:)

Whooooooooooa, Great love song. Really. Makes my day 💗💗💗

I always thought I was an okay guitar player, but I never thought I was good enough to allow people to hear me play through still pictures. If it really did make your day, how about an upvote? You liked your comment enough to give yourself an upvote on hearing a song that doesn't exist, why not an upvote for the creator of the non-existent song that made your day?

It is a good guitar. Use a strong glue...

Wow great compisition love the music

I know eh. It's like you can hear the guitar through the pictures even if there is no music on the post. What?

Oh, what a mess!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97