You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'The Cranberries'

in #music6 years ago

Your a bigger fan than me! I was listening to 'Roses' last week but am just not getting it, besides the title track.

Bury the Hatchet was the last one I gelled with but I found it very patchy.

Sort:  

I can totally get that. It's very strange, my feelings about 'The Cranberries'. I have plenty of bands with songs, or even whole albums, that I adore. But even the bands or vocalists I love the most have plenty of 'off' tracks, ones that I skip when playing the disc in my car or ones with tracks I don't bother ripping to my MP3 player. 'Pearl Jam', 'Nirvana', 'Counting Crows', 'Better Than Ezra', 'Type O Negative' (I'm a product of the 90's, don't judge!)...I love them all, but each of them has songs or even whole albums that I can't stand.

'The Cranberries' are singular in this fashion. I'm far from some drooling fan or pretentious hipster (at least I don't think I am), and it's not something I even think about consciously. They're the only band with whose music I have that kind of relationship. They're the only band whose singles and EPs I collect, and one of my greatest musical treasures is a copy of 'Linger' signed by Dolores.

Something about their music just has that effect on me, for whatever reason. Do you have any bands for whom this is the case, or am I a giant nutter?

one of my greatest musical treasures is a copy of 'Linger' signed by
Dolores.

Ooh.. did she sign it for you or you got it somewhere?

Do you have any bands for whom this is the case, or am I a giant nutter?

Probably just one.. The Sundays.. an English band from around the same era.

I wish she'd signed it for me. I just found it in the wild, where the shop selling it clearly didn't know what they had and probably assumed the thing had previously belonged to a girl named "Dolores". Cost me a buck and some change in tax. :)

Ah yes, I can totally dig that vibe on "The Sundays". I love this one:

I know it was their big hit, but still, beautiful song and incredible singer in Harriet Wheeler. :)

It was their big hit but one of my least fave songs! They only did 3 albums and I was fortunate enough to see them live in 1997. I had the massive hots for Harriet.

She's absolutely lovely, no two ways about it. You saw them live? Damn...I'm jealous. Much like you've I tried and failed twice to see The Cranberries. Show was cancelled both times, with the most recent one being the US leg of their planned tour last year. :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58085.08
ETH 2337.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37