Metal Weekend : THREE from Biffy Clyro

in #music6 years ago (edited)

So here are my THREE offerings for this weekend.
Why not checkout the @detlev post and send some new tunes to listen too?


z2weqzc19l.jpg

The main post is here:
https://steemit.com/music/@detlev/metal-weekend-play-it-loud-and-share-your-metal-songs-with-us

My tastes tend to be more to progressive metal and alternative so this is what you will probably expect from me today and going forward.


33xz0etc68.jpg

I have mentioned this band in the past and that there are really two iterations of them; the old and the new. The first three albums, Blackened Sky, The Vertigo of Bliss and Infinity Land are the original Biffy followed by Puzzle which is a transition album.

From Only Revolutions onwards is what I consider ‘new Biffy’, and while they have a legion of new fans that love their, in my opinion ‘Generic sound’, they lost the original fans including me.

I am staunchly an ‘old Biffy’ fan and love their strange time signatures and complete change of direction mid-song themes. It seemed they went out of their way to make the music difficult to listen to, and I found them hard to crack when I first started listening.

In 2012 I saw the band live in Manchester and I was probably the only fan in the arena that was disappointed. I really don’t like generic, radio friendly music and that is for the most part what was presented to me that evening.

Of course I am going to present THREE songs that I feel are from the original ‘old Biffy’, which are worth a listen. Biffy Clyro are more metal than alternative, so this will be a #MetalWeekend article.


33xz0etc68.jpg

Biffy Clyro - Living Is A Problem Because Everything Dies

This song is one of the highlights from the ‘Puzzle’ album which I feel is during their transition period. This is not to say there are no good songs on the album, far from it. There are two versions of this song, and it’s of my opinion that the album one is unnecessarily long, so I will present you the edited version which does have a video.

It was released as a single, but the band were not popular then and so it is unlikely you have heard it before unless you are already acquainted with the band.




g9pv4ubd1t.png

Biffy Clyro - There's No Such Thing As A Jaggy Snake

From the ‘Insanity Land’ album, this one is firmly in the ‘old Biffy’ repertoire and yet they seem to still play it at their gigs. I’m sure this freaks out the ‘new fans’ as the first minute contains much screaming and is more akin to extreme metal.. Get past this, and your are rewarded with a diverse song, that twists and turns as much as the lyrics do. One of the best on the album.

The opening screams do sound to me like , ‘wankerssss’, however I’m sure Simon Neil is not stating such profanities to his audience!




g9pv4ubd1t.png

Biffy Clyro - Pause It and Turn It Up

The final song from ‘Insanity Land’ is a much more sombre offering, but as it’s the last song it’s a good one. No metal or screaming, just harmony with some great guitar work. If you like the more chilled songs, this is your pick of the three.

I couldn’t seem to find a good clip of the original song and this one is 25 minutes long, but the song is only 4:30 or so. Consequently there’s a lot of silence when it finishes.



Pump up the volume, PLAY IT LOUD!


Guitar Image courtesy of http://www.freestockphotos.biz/stockphoto/16642

DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 233 (8/21/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Awesome and unexpected one this one, thanks!

The one video didn't work for me. I am going to see if I can give them a listen on Spotify when I get a chance though.

It could be your location, YouTube are a bit funny with that.

I actually missed most of the metal genre he first time around. You know, raising children and such. But I know I can count on you to give me some good lessons!

Thanks for the listen. Always appreciated.

i loved this one: Biffy Clyro - Pause It and Turn It Up

The rithm is sweet and the melodic is good!!

I'm not a lover of metal, but I liked it a lot and I think I'll start listening to it, very good!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Slobberchops from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67494.12
ETH 3222.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65