Steemit Music League Challenge Week #8 Entry: Simgirl, Ft. @topkpop

in #music7 years ago (edited)

This is a collaboration entry of me and @topkpop for the SML Challenge Week #8



The SML Challenge was created to provide an additional avenue for the musicians of Steemit who are chasing their dreams to be highlighted and earn some additional recognition, feedback, and rewards.

I was not going to join this contest, because I only write lyrics. There was a time I thought I could sing, but that is not now, and I don’t know how to spin beats… yet.

But that did not stop me from entering this contest.

@snook inspired me when she wrote her wonderful contest entry for Dr. Pepper, and I decided to look for some free beats on sound cloud.

I found the beat, listened for a while, thought about giving up, looked for more beats; discovered most free beats are a big scam, then went back to my original beat, and made it work.

After I tried my best to sing, I spared you all, and reached out to @topkpop for help with the vocals. She loved the song, and nailed it!!! Thank you so much!!!! She has also offered to produce a nice video from the footage I got while taking the photos, so stayed tuned for that!!!

I used the ladies from my Sim Girl legacy challenge to make the video.

I hope you enjoy this. I know we had a lot of fun making it!



Going Down in the Streets Tonight

Lyrics by: @simgirl
Vocals by: @topkpop
Beats by: The Passion HiFi- The Remanded
https://soundcloud.com/freehiphopbeatsforyou/free-the-passion-hifi-remanded-dirty-south-beat-instrumental

Lyrics:

What’s it like growing up in the city;
Buildings tall with those neon lights.
Got it rough, but you know I’m looking pretty.
It’s going down in the streets tonight.

I got my boots tall; I’m punk rock.
Bouncing down to the club to start.
Got some cash from my visa card,
Showing up in style to break some hearts.

We’re going all out,
No way we’re gonna stop.
If you think you’re all that baby,
Come on show me what you got.

Can you feel this feeling?
Watch me as I’m reaching,
Up on to the ceiling;
Nothing like this healing.

All I want is more, more,
Let the music pour, or
Rock me to the core.
Just take me to the floor and,

Dance through the night.
I’m only me under these lights.
I’m gone; to the zone,
Where everything’s going to be all right.

What’s it like growing up in the city;
Dirty streets, and childish fights.
Got it tough, but you know I take no pity.
It’s going down in the streets tonight.

We’re going all out.
No way we’re gonna stop.
If you think you’re all that baby,
Come on show me what you got.

Can you feel this feeling?
Watch me as I’m reaching;
Up on to the ceiling.
Nothing like this healing.

All I want is more, more.
Let the music pour, or
Rock me to the core.
Just take me to the floor and,

Dance through the night.
I’m only me under these lights.
I’m gone; to the zone,
Where everything’s going to be all right.

What’s it like growing up in the city;
Buildings tall with those neon lights.
Got it rough, but you know I’m looking pretty.
It’s going down in the streets tonight.

Music By: Simgirl
Space Elevator SMA Get A Record Contest

Simgirlbanner Made by @son-of-satire

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Imgur

Imgur

Sort:  

I enjoyed listening to this track; a great collaboration and entry to the contest.

Thank you for listening :) We are still new at this!

"Where everything is going to be alright."

O weeeee love these lyrics @simgirl and the passion in which you deliver them @topkpop.

And both of those videos holy smokes you are so creative. Love how you show music scenes and dancing in there. That is so incredible. Show off those skills.

In my opinion @topkpop "Dance through the night... ... where everything is going to be alright" are your strongest vocals. You hit your notes and fit the beat so nicely and I can feel the passion in your voice.

We should have @seveaux add some of his techniques to your vocals and sounds and see how it sounds :)

Team work makes the dream work and this entry is such an ideal example of them. So awesome you two came together to create art (this music and video) for the community to enjoy.

Appreciate all the time and effort you both put into creating this awesome entry.

Namaste

Thanks so much!!! We had so much fun! @topkpop nailed the vocals. Once we learn how to put in backup vocals and stuff, we will be busting the hits out! :D

This was so fun to sing. You definitely know how to write catchy hooks. Love the sims video too haha, fantastic. Thanks for reaching out to me to be vocals. Glad I could a part of it 😀

Thanks for the help!!! I couldn't have done it without you!! I love it!

Congratulations @simgirl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58225.92
ETH 3120.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50