80s Music Was Better

in #music7 years ago

This morning, my wife was listening to West End Girls by Pet Shop Boys

And as we were enjoying the somber tones, she read me this comment:

Screenshot (71).png

I can't say I'm able to disagree.

I was born in 82, and I remember riding in the car with my mom as she ran errands. We had the radio on, and song after song after song was not just good -- they were GREAT.

Back then, I just thought that's what music was. My older sister listened to the more bubblegum-pop stuff, which I found a little annoying, but mostly just because she listened to it. My childish mind simply thought music was good.

And then the 90s came around, and some music was still good, but suddenly.... a lot of it was really bad.

Then the 2000s, and things only got worse.

By the mid-00s, I'd completely given up on new music on the radio, and largely music videos, too. There were of course exceptions -- almost all of them underrated indie acts -- but the rock was terrible. I couldn't stand the popular stuff. And country music sounded increasingly like Nickleback. I tuned into NPR in the hopes that they were playing classical music. And if they weren't, I'd just drive my car in silence.

In many ways, I wish I could go back to the 80s and really appreciate it for what it is...

What are your favorite 80s tracks and videos? Post a few and share them with me, I'd love to hear it. :)

Follow me @shayne

Sort:  

@steempty, yesss! Love this song! Love how the sunglasses morph into different scenes. lol Such a quirky music video.

Hi @steempty,

Congratulations! You have been chosen to appear on another amazing edition of "Who to Follow Daily". Thank you for adding so much value to the Steemit community. Steem on!

OH! You were talking about the 1980s... Oh!
I was going to bring up the 1580s but YEA, the 1980s were cool too!
Where's the Beef, lol, Rock on!

Imgur

Hey, I'm as big a fan of Greensleeves as the next guy ;)

I was going to work with these guys but they had a problem with Hats...
PEASANTS!

JAM ON IT!

It's amazing how I missed the point of the lyrics completely when I was a child.

Good music always has layers of interpretation :)

So true! The biggest reason in my opinion is because todays music is approachable to everyone everywhere, and in 80s music was more appreciated, and you would actually need to pay for it in order to have records etc. No one wanted to give money for buying crap, so I guess that makes sense :) Thanks for sharing this, especially "You spin me round" ! Haven`t heard it in awhile.

Quite true @alexcote and if you were able to buy the latest single or album, your street cred went up. However, having said that, as there were fewer outlets, we religiously (in the UK) watched Top of the Pops and listened to the top 40 on Radio 1. Best of all, was when music was banned - Frankie Goes to Hollywood´s "Relax" - for example. This of course guaranteed that it was be a huge hit! :)

True.. I guess we should be happy that there is still lot of us who appreciate older music :)

That's a good point. It was a more exclusive club at the time. The ease of access to production and publication that the internet brings is both a good and bad thing: good stuff that otherwise wouldn't have a chance to be seen can be published and scouted, but lots and lots of bad stuff gets pumped out every day.

Unfortunately yeah.. Awhile ago I was in the night club and I just couldnt believe what music was there haha.. I guess it was the music thats popular nowadays.

Yah, nothing like the 80's.. good music but the fashion....

Maybe there's only so much good culture to go around per decade, and because the 80s were so good with music, they had to be really shitty somewhere else.

But 70's music is best.

70s is good, a lot of it.... I wonder if it's tied with 60s. The Vietnam stuff is some of the best music in American culture. I just feel like a lot of it was drug-induced.

I think all music from the mid 60's to now was drug-induced.

Maybe it's the trending drugs that decide the quality of the music lol

hey man, are you on steemit.chat?

Hey, check out my fanfiction? im pretty sure you will actually laugh about it and not get all upset. You live happily ever after in the end! :D I havent told @dan as he might not be able to take a joke. if you do end up liking it please leave a comment.

Just hopped on :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51