And Counting - Teekay the Sensei (live) [Original music]

in #music8 years ago (edited)

This is me spitting a song I recorded a few years ago which is somewhat like a poetic riddle for Global Conflict.
Zero fucks were given whilst recording this and so I look like a bum.
And I recorded this one using pro tools so the sound quality is much better than the last.
The faint crackling noise is a part of the instrumental.
Enjoy.

Credits:

Poormanbeats - instrumental, mix, master
Teekay the Sensei - vocals

Soundcloud:

https://soundcloud.com/teekaythesensei/and-counting-prod-poormanbeats

What this song means to me

It's been a long road with my music so far and when I wrote this track I set a challenge to myself to prove that I am okay at this and that all the hard work hadn't been for nothing.

I feel the word play goes over most heads and that's what I set out to achieve but there were still a few mistakes whilst recording. Still turned out okay thanks to Eric Spice (Poormanbeats), who let me use his beat in the first place.

See if you can decipher the lyrics.

With my music, I try to perfect myself more and more before releasing my songs. It's my way of portraying what's in my head as best as I can and get better each time. We'll see how good my next stuff comes out.

Lyrics:

verse:

I've been sitting round dazed,

watching headlines all day,

things just ain't the same,


At a younger age,

I went through a phase,

of liquor and fame,


time transpired my false aim,

for quick gain,


I realized this game,

of life ain't ripe with light,

it's darkest at night,

with fools larking despite,


the fact the hypes,

created by white collar types,

A fool is what I used to be like,


but now I see the fight against a bigger evil,

a threat to society with no equal,


so, my dome,

keeps information loaded like a needle,

vaccinating my people,

treating the feeble,


while defeating the deceitful,

like a righteous retrieval,

from a time medieval,


I'm defeating the prime evil,

making this place peaceful,

with an upheaval,

of fatal unstable sociopaths,


my fable has been unveiled at last,

my team's on the table,

and we're not coming last,


raining hail,

as we blind the first class,


talking bout the 99,

crossing off the dollar sign,


at last,

it's a matter of time,

until info starts to find,

it's way into every mind,


appeared thicker,

but go figure,

it's now hard to deny,


we're witnessing,

the wickedest crimes.


hook:


I was born to defy,

the design of this time,

and in time you will find,

your mind will open wide to see,


the truth that lies beneath,

the lies that keep us weak,

in deep,

over our heads indeed,


in the waters of the beast,

as it feasts on our souls,


dozens by the day,

but we stay uninvolved,


have we really evolved

from what was the old,


if we take what can be sold,

by leaving numerous bodies cold.


verse two:


corpses on the back of my eyelids,

reliving the violence,

every time I hear sirens,

there's silence,


this world is madness,

I won't lie it's,

hard to withstand this,


existence where murder is business,

couture for torturing the witness,


find enemies fortuitously,

dropping bombs to such a degree,


it's terraforming communities,

claiming casualties,

slaying family trees,


I'm painting the scene ,

so you can finally see,

what I really mean,


this ain't a dream,

this is actually reality,

stop your fallacy,

arguing unintelligibly,


this was written intricately,

to inform you delicately,

that the forces that be,

own every scene,


Time is money,

money is power,

literally,

living life by the hour,

as gets harder to breathe.

Follow @senseiteekay

Follow @thirstyrecords

Sort:  

As a fellow emcee, I definitely can appreciate how deeply written your lyrics can be and the passion with which you deliver your message so rhythmically. It is quite captivating and one of my favorites of thee. Had me bobbing my head listening to the intricacies of your syllables weaved, and the message received beyond the people deceived, so vividly I could feel the beat, had me tapping my feet, a little swaying of the lungs does make it harder to breathe and therefore harder to speak and plant a seed, I can agree, knowing how it feels to build a dearly writ creed, and paying homage to the genre that we embody indeed. Long live Hip Hop
Upvoted

Yo @verbal-d, I completely agree,
rhythm and poetry mean a lot me.
Hip hop is what has gotten me,
off of the block and locked into a prophecy,

I never dreamed I'd see,
enlightening spirituality,
that's obtained when practicing,
ordained accuracy.

Preaching accurately for actual MCs,
and so it seems,
Verbal-D, I'll be,
following your steez,

so keep that hip hop on repeat,
keep spinning those beats,
eventually,
we'll funk up the Steemit scene.

Appreciate the follow
We're leaving tokens for tomorrow
Compensating with this positive music over our sorrows

We can't afford to wallow
Bird's view of a Swallow
Discerning them serpentines
Before we're suffocated, swallowed

Steemit is not Apollo
But our mission isn't Drago
This life can be so Rocky
But we tunnel through the hollows

Keep flowing and improving
And I'll also keep it moving
I reciprocated the gesture
Needing no measures to be proven

Great vocals man - I listened to it twice with my eyes shut.

Thanks @getonthetrain. The multi-syllables make it hard to project my voice as much as I would like to; run out of breath trying to run it through like that. I also updated the post to warn people about the faint crackling noise that you pointed out in chat. I'm not sure why the instrumental has it but I've grown to like it over time. Gives it a kind of ambient feel, like a black & white war movie..

Beautiful mate. Absolutely awesome. I can't really describe how brilliant this is.

thanks @thecryptofiend. I'm happy to hear people still like this kind of composition.

Yes well few people make this kind of classic stuff. It's all over-processed poppy crap that I don't really consider to be real hip-hop. Let me know if you release an album or something. I will be first to buy it.

I agree with you there. There's not as much grit in the hip hop industry. The old ways are being forgotten.

And thanks! I'll definitely post it up here if I do.

Like the instrumental chosen for it. Great

Thanks. Poormanbeats has some skills, that's for sure.

Very cute his music, I like that the other compound Thank you for sharing this post

I think your comment was translated badly. I'm not sure what you mean by, "the other compound"?

Thanks for listening.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58304.13
ETH 2575.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43