Dark Ether Song // Inspired By A Steemit Comment

in #music8 years ago (edited)

In the last post from my Music and Math series, I added two chords together and created a dark F minor chord that I didn't know what to do with.

I tried various chord progressions last night and played the chord arpeggio on the piano this morning, but I had no major revelations.

Then I went back to @meesterboom comment yesterday and he described the F minor chord as "his ethereal majesty."

His ethereal majesty.

That phrase got me going and I combined it the darkness in the chord felt and boom... Dark Ether was born.

The chord is made from adding C major and D major together to create a dark F minor Chord with the notes F, G, Ab, and Eb. Here's how the chord sounds on the piano.

The lyrics were not to bad to whip up, but the hardest part was trying to sneak in the story of how this dark chord came to be. I had a framework for what words I would used based on the notes in the C major, D major, and dark F minor chords.

C E G
D F# A
F G Ab Eb

Eventually I came up with this.

[C]raned like [E]den's [g]rapes of old
[D]rawn like [f]laming [a]rrows
[F]raying [g]ravity's [a]tmosphere [e]nds

I say "fray" in the song, but you get the idea. This way anyone could decode how I created the main chord that is played throughout most of song. I will include the full lyrics and chords after the video. This dark chord I keep referring to is Fm7sus2 for you music geeks out there.

And my vocal range is narrow after recovering from a surgery I had last year, so my next few songs will be within one octave.

Dark Ether (lyrics)
===================
Oh dark ethereal one
Born from colliding suns
Now you are drawing us in
Chained like Eden's grapes of old
Drawn like fiery arrows
Fraying gravity's atmosphere ends
Steam rises and swirls around
You bring back immortal sounds
Back to our hearts again 
Dark Ether (lyrics+chords)
==========================
Verse Chords //
Fm7sus2: x8604x
AbMaj7: 8x604x
Fmsus2sus4 (Fmsus): 6x606x
Chorus Chords // Db b5: x4606x Eb: x6808x Cm: x3504x Ebsus4: 6x604x GmMaj7sus4: 8x806x ==========================
Fm7sus2 Oh dark ethereal one AbMaj7 Born from colliding suns Fmsus Now you are drawing us in
Fm7sus2
Chained like Eden's grapes of old
AbMaj7
Drawn like fiery arrows
Fmsus
Fraying gravity's atmosphere ends
Db b5           Eb     Cm
Steam rises and swirls around
Db b5           Eb     Cm
You bring back immortal sounds
Ebsus4         GmMaj7sus4   Fm7sus2
Back to our hearts again

Notes: - The image is mine from this digital series, and is part of an unreleased card game I made called Eshelon.
Sort:  

nice post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65637.68
ETH 2661.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81