You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On Hedgehogs and Not Kicking 2020 in The Nuts

in #music4 years ago

Great story. I didn't listen to the song yet. Lol. I'm too busy listening to PJ Harvey's white chalk album. My grandfather was born in London in 1899. I've never been to England or Europe or really anywhere actually. My entire English fantasy is all from movies and books and music and photos. It's a lot of early Jethro Tull and Led Zeppelin and before that The Beatles. Twiggy, Carnaby street. Winston Churchill. Mods and rockers. Tolkien and The Hobbit. That one is powerful. Elves and the first born. If I actually went there I would probably freak out. I can't really see myself in the rough neighbourhoods and poorer places. London now? So I looked up Dorset and the coast there. Oh I forget to mention I never heard any PJ Harvey until recently. I have no idea how that happened. Hmmm... Just rambling here. My train of thought has gone far off on other tangents and I can't keepupwithtyping... The houseboat reminded my of a grim movie with Ewan MacGregor and Tilda Swinson. Emily Mortimer too. She falls in a river and drowns... He gets a job on a coal barge... The scenes of the channels or whatever they are called really stirred my imagination. oh boy this writing stuff is the worst.

Here's a cheery little ditty

Sort:  

Oh yes I know the Macgregor movie. Wasn't bad.

Gosh I love PJ Harvey. Sorry I don't reply much here.. I'm mainly on the other platform. Gutted as love chatting to you x

Hi! I still post here and never check the comments lol. I don’t get any. Probably should write a few more often.

There are parts of that movie I love! The early relationship with Emily Mortimer. And that crazy scene with the food and ketchup or whatever hellish crap he’s pulling. Yikes! She’s adorable. I fell completely in love with her. I enjoy talking about movies. No one to talk to though. I was just thinking about Antonioni’s movie Blow Up. There’s a similar weird abusive sex type thing in that with Jane Burkin and the other girl. I love the street scenes and the clothes and art. Hee hee! This is so impossible to write about. 🤓 I love all the cultural artistic stuff. It’s easy for people to dismiss it all as pompous and posh and ritzy ditzy elitist nonsense. But but but. I just love it. Haha.

I wonder if I just stopped a passerby and said “what’s your take on Antonioni and his films?” Ha! Or what about Rothko and the Seagram’s paintings? Or how bout them late period Braque paintings ? Who hoo!

I guess it just seems like a good way to pass the time. Of course I don’t know enough to hang out with the heavy weight folks so where to go?

Polly Jean Harvey! For fuck sake. How in the world did I not even know until a couple of months ago? Maybe I was just not ready. I had seen the mansize video when it came out. Then nothing for 30 years? What? So I’ve been watching all her live shows and just tripping out. I feel like little kid with a magic discovery and want to tell everyone! How funny right ? Fuck I wish I would have went to all the 1995 shows. Well all of them really. That year I was a senior in college at 36 years old. I’m also listening to Björk and similarly blown away. I skipped over her too until now. Two newer bands I love are Surfbort and Amyl and the sniffers. I just love seeing anyone really go all out with their creative freak. Haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68218.35
ETH 2640.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69