On Hedgehogs and Not Kicking 2020 in The Nuts

in #music4 years ago

I don't want to kick 2020 in the nuts like so many are doing right now. That just encourages me to focus on the negative, and I did that enough in March/April when my plans were well and truly scuppered on the rocks, leaving me screaming to the unsympathetic sky - the same sky that everyone was screaming about in frustrated and fearful unison. In the end, 2020 showed us we were more connected than ever, DESPITE being torn apart - you can't stop people loving each other tremendously, friend or stranger. And that there was a lot to be grateful for, bruised nuts aside. Actually, mine's a bruised vag, but never mind. I don't regret 2020 happening. We did okay,all things considered. And it doesn't serve us, or anyone for that matter, to dwell upon, lament or relive the past. I seriously can't talk about the hotel quarantine fiasco without feeling uber anxious and a little bit sick.

I'm trying to think of an INSPIRING song but instead, I have an earworm of A DISTRACTING song. So we're in that Dutch barge we stayed in on the Kennett and Avon canal, right, drinking far too much French red wine as the water lapped at the boat. We're listening to some random folk playlist on Spotify, where they are throwing up songs that seem to fit the mood. English stuff. And then this very catchy song comes on, something about a hedgehog, which is cute, as Jamie's Dad is the head of the Hedgehog rescue in Kent. That's not a title I will ever have. We like to think of him having a hedgehog ambulance with a little hedgehog painted on the side and a siren, but that's just our imagination. Anyway, I digress - here's the song:

I absolutley challenge you to listen to this song twice, and then not have it in your head for a week. It's by an English psych folk band from the 60's and definite encapsulates the unique quirkiness of the British folk scene. Being in England in that time was pretty awesome - there were no planes, no traffic - the whole country was shut down. There were deer, and kingfishers, and squirrels all around, the landscape of old that English folk are so darn tied to. The smell of wild garlic drifting from the woods into the boat, stinging nettles in the stew on the fire for dinner, Somerset brie and oat cakes after a day's walking through centuries old villages and an even older barrow, which as you know is a burial mound. Forget the more popular and well known West Kennet or Bath cathedral - there's nooks and woods and hills and streams all over Somerset that quietly boast the whole timeline of history, of course including my ancestors. Some had lived in the village not 3 miles from where the boat was moored, and I imagined them walking along the tow path towards Bradford on Avon for market day, or other business that might be in a larger town.

Old stuff in a field, Wellow

Home for a couple of weeks, a canal in Somerset


For a little while, we forgot the pandemic and slipped into a Britain that time forgot, and that we remembered from a quieter and gentler world seventeen years past, from when we used to live in England's green majesty.

Still bloody never saw a hedgehog though.

In the end we were screaming at each other to NOT BLOODY SING OR HUM THE BLOODY HEDGEHOG SONG.

But boy, it brings back some nice memories - I don't want to forget 2020, but just remember the good stuff.

Sort:  

Great story. I didn't listen to the song yet. Lol. I'm too busy listening to PJ Harvey's white chalk album. My grandfather was born in London in 1899. I've never been to England or Europe or really anywhere actually. My entire English fantasy is all from movies and books and music and photos. It's a lot of early Jethro Tull and Led Zeppelin and before that The Beatles. Twiggy, Carnaby street. Winston Churchill. Mods and rockers. Tolkien and The Hobbit. That one is powerful. Elves and the first born. If I actually went there I would probably freak out. I can't really see myself in the rough neighbourhoods and poorer places. London now? So I looked up Dorset and the coast there. Oh I forget to mention I never heard any PJ Harvey until recently. I have no idea how that happened. Hmmm... Just rambling here. My train of thought has gone far off on other tangents and I can't keepupwithtyping... The houseboat reminded my of a grim movie with Ewan MacGregor and Tilda Swinson. Emily Mortimer too. She falls in a river and drowns... He gets a job on a coal barge... The scenes of the channels or whatever they are called really stirred my imagination. oh boy this writing stuff is the worst.

Here's a cheery little ditty

Oh yes I know the Macgregor movie. Wasn't bad.

Gosh I love PJ Harvey. Sorry I don't reply much here.. I'm mainly on the other platform. Gutted as love chatting to you x

Hi! I still post here and never check the comments lol. I don’t get any. Probably should write a few more often.

There are parts of that movie I love! The early relationship with Emily Mortimer. And that crazy scene with the food and ketchup or whatever hellish crap he’s pulling. Yikes! She’s adorable. I fell completely in love with her. I enjoy talking about movies. No one to talk to though. I was just thinking about Antonioni’s movie Blow Up. There’s a similar weird abusive sex type thing in that with Jane Burkin and the other girl. I love the street scenes and the clothes and art. Hee hee! This is so impossible to write about. 🤓 I love all the cultural artistic stuff. It’s easy for people to dismiss it all as pompous and posh and ritzy ditzy elitist nonsense. But but but. I just love it. Haha.

I wonder if I just stopped a passerby and said “what’s your take on Antonioni and his films?” Ha! Or what about Rothko and the Seagram’s paintings? Or how bout them late period Braque paintings ? Who hoo!

I guess it just seems like a good way to pass the time. Of course I don’t know enough to hang out with the heavy weight folks so where to go?

Polly Jean Harvey! For fuck sake. How in the world did I not even know until a couple of months ago? Maybe I was just not ready. I had seen the mansize video when it came out. Then nothing for 30 years? What? So I’ve been watching all her live shows and just tripping out. I feel like little kid with a magic discovery and want to tell everyone! How funny right ? Fuck I wish I would have went to all the 1995 shows. Well all of them really. That year I was a senior in college at 36 years old. I’m also listening to Björk and similarly blown away. I skipped over her too until now. Two newer bands I love are Surfbort and Amyl and the sniffers. I just love seeing anyone really go all out with their creative freak. Haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62924.41
ETH 2436.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52