Music Monday: You Make Me Want to Wear Dresses, I Need a Man and Spirit of the Forest

in #music5 years ago (edited)



Yesterday my man flew off a million miles to the UK and I'm missing him already, especially when I listened to Jesse I on PBS FM Melbourne Radio - Saturday arvo reggae. We always listen to it together, coming back from a surf, so it kinda makes me sad he's so far away. Ah, well, only a month to go.

Radio saves me from feeling too lonely in an empty house - as long as there's music and the voices on the radio, I feel okay.

The following two songs came up on Sunday morning radio - hadn't heard either of them, but I really enjoyed them. Both female artists too!

This one is sooo beautiful! It was on the Northern Exposure soundtrack - did anyone used to watch that? So long ago now. Loved this song - its a trad folk song song by a Native American woman Joanna Shenadoah. You may have heard of her - I haven't! Not on my radar, being Australian, but I think I'm in love... I've been listening to her stuff all afternoon. Ah, how could I have not heard of her?

The above song reminded me of a song by Baka Beyond - think it was the ululations and the tribal feel. Baka Beyond are an afro-celtic band inspired by the rainforest and nature - saw them live in Dorset years ago, haven't listened to them in ages.

Hope you enjoyed this week's selection. I'm pretty eclectic in my taste and post something different every week, so don't be shy about popping in and saying hello, or making your own #musicmonday post which I will most definitely support and upvote!



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

Sort:  

Here´s mine, trying to be eclectic and nostalgic at the same time! 😎
https://steemit.com/music/@likedeeler/music-monday-my-musical-heroines-ii

Yes!!!!!! Ill be over there when I fully wake up!!!! So happy you are doing this too.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey.

It's Sunday.

In the past it is Sunday , for all you backwards people for me it is most definitely Monday. Hahaha. Hope you are having a lovely Sunday night.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey, that third song is awesome. Afro-celtic is a really cool mix.

Glad you liked it!!! It's cool huh.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah it's really neat. As for the first two, they didn't resonate with Nate so much ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

No worries x

Posted using Partiko Android

Although your music is totally not my style, I am totally digging these songs today girly!

And sucks about the man being going...hope you get him back soon?

I wish I liked metal just for you... I will have to think of my most hard core song mems for you....

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahahhaha..dont worry on it! Im appreciating the diversity!

I did used to listen to a LOT of thrash when I was younger if that counts.... like a lot. I went out with a thrash metal drummer. So it's not entirely foreign to me - just not my thing anymore. I appreciate that it's yours though, more than you realise!

Many miles away... at least he is not an astronaut and is not light years away...

Awesome... LOVE the Stones.. so glad Mick didnt die young. They've certainly gone a bit psychedelic on this one... cool. Thanks for sharing!!!! Love you joining in, makes my day x

Posted using Partiko Android

Loved the Baka Beyond song, was a nice instrumental, calm and relaxing!

I love this track it’s so chill to listen to.
Jai Wolf - Indian Summer

Oooh that's nice!! Added this one to my YouTube tunes folder. Love it. Thanks.for sharing... was painting the laundry listening to it and it went down very well. X

Posted using Partiko Android

1 month will pass off quickly and your man will be back soon home dancing around with you. Till then you can enjoy the music and spend some more time with us 😃💚

Hey my friend, sorry I fell asleep with the headphones on! lol Love your choices this week .. a real tribal feel to the last couple of tracks and I love that!! I saw Afro Celt Soundsystem a couple of years back and they are also really good .. Looking forward to looking into the back catalogue of you choices so thank you or the intro! Here is my choice this week .. I hope you enjoy :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94