Music Monday: My Musical Heroines II

in #music6 years ago

Oh Bondage Up Yours !




Last Monday I mentioned a few of my musical heroines, but of course I could not give you all those great women and their songs in one post, so today some more songs and a more nostalgic approach.

Let´s start with Poly Styrene, lead singer and song writer of British punk band X-Ray Spex, the band who made me want to learn sax, but alas, I´m a lazy bugger and just dabbled a bit in guitar.
A great artist and true individualist, she also died far too early. Not Janis-Joplin early, but still, 53 is still too young to die.
When I was young and listened to her music, I was too stupid to understand what a genius she was.
In those days it was all about 1,2,3,4 and grabbing another guy by the leather jacket and pogo all night long, not about text and poetry.
Here´s some background information, an article written by her daughter.
But now, without further ado, the iconic "Oh Bondage Up Yours !"







There are a lot of great female singers singing in German, but since we are more international here, I will omit the one and only Nina Hagen (classically trained German Godmother of Punk) and choose Sandra Nasic, of Guano Apes fame, instead.
While there are many great songs with the Apes to choose from, "Big In Japan" being my favorite, I go for her cooperation with Apocalyptica instead, 'Path Vol. II'







Time for American icon Patty Smith.
Her album "Horses" was mentioned by many great musicians as having been the most influential album for their own music.
Not many lines can beat "Jesus died for somebody´s sins but not mine" as an opener, so I could not go wrong with chosing "Gloria" as an example of Patty´s art, but what better way to represent such an ingenious artist than by chosing a cover she did of another American icon´s work?
So absolutely badass!







I hope you guys enjoyed my little trip into nostalgia land, oldies but goldies. 😘

Sort:  

Congratulations @likedeeler! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 4000

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Oh my goodness, I adore that Patti version of Teen Spirit - I just adore her so much. I saw her play with Dylan years ago with my Dad - far out she was BRILLIANT (Bob was shite) in barefeet banshee beauty. Just loved her. I love 'Horses' it's one of my fave songs of all time.

Oh Bondage Up YOurs is an absolute classic, what a great memory. Love it.

Not as keen on song 2 but I did used to listen to Nina Hagen. For some reason my mind jumped to Lydia Lunch, and as I do try not to think about it too much and go with my first mind jump on these music sharing posts, this is my contribution....

Plus, I have to also include Sonic Youth and Kym Gordon as I was also listening to her around that same era and it's one of my favourites.

@perceptualflaws, you might wanna drop past too xx

I saw Patti Smith once live and I was really surprised on her power on stage. I can understand why she is a big influence in great musicians.

Let me share you a band fronted by a woman, The Baboon Show from Sweden.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74