10 Simple rules for learning to enjoy classical music

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Here are ten simple rules that, almost accidentally, led me to begin enjoying classical music.


Image Source:
pixabay.com, License: CC0, Public Domain

Before talking about how to learn to enjoy classical music, some people might wonder why in the world anyone might want to do that. I'm sneaking up on 50 years old, and up until about two years ago, I thought of classical music as just slightly more enjoyable than a root canal. Now, here I am helping to build the Steemit's Best Classical Music facebook page and the @classical-music steemit account. What changed my mind?

There are three things that I especially enjoy about classical music that I don't find in modern music. These are its connection to history, its amazing complexity, and its intellectual challenge.

Image Source: pixabay.com, License: CC0, Public Domain

In a way, I guess that it's similar to studying genealogy. As I've begun learning (Ironically, from my 15 year old son - @cmp2020) about classical music, it is fascinating to put the pieces I hear into historical context. For example, did you know that Beethoven was writing his masterpieces around the tumultuous times of the various political upheavals in France? @cmp2020 even tells me that one of Beethoven's pieces was named for Napoleon, and then renamed in anger when Napoleon declared himself emperor. I was never a student of history, so sometimes these relationships are forgotten soon after I learn them, but it is still interesting to pick up what I can. This music has a historical context that often makes it more interesting to listen to. This context may also account for some of the music's complexity.

When you listen - really listen - to many classical pieces, the complexity is astonishing. You'll hear a theme come and go, forget about it, then suddenly be surprised when the same them reemerges out of nowhere with some unexpected variation. And this, in turn, may lead to the intellectual challenge that comes with listening to classical music.

Listening to classical music can be a much more active experience than listening to my other favorite genres: country, bluegrass, folk, and rock. Listening to identify the themes and patterns in a piece can come to feel almost like solving a puzzle.

So now that I've persuaded you that you really do want to learn to enjoy classical music, here are ten simple rules that I followed during the last couple of years to develop my own appreciation for the art form.

1. One piece at a time

My first step on the journey to enjoying classical music came when @cmp2020 switched piano teachers. His first teacher taught from mostly contemporary music. He played a few simple classical tunes, but mostly it was music by (relatively) modern performers like Billy Joel, Elton John, and Three Dog Night. When he left her, he was working on Scott Joplin's Maple Leaf Rag, which he completed with his next instructor:

After that, however, his next instructor insisted on classical music, so I heard Bach's First Invention rehearsed over and over and over (and over) again, until it sounded like this:

This constant repetition for six months or more gave me a level of familiarity that I'd never had from listening to any other classical pieces, and one day I realized that I really enjoyed it. When I had listened to classical music in the past, the pieces all ran together, but the level of familiarity that I accidentally developed with Bach's First Invention opened my mind to listening to more.

2. One composer at a time

It was about this time that we switched @cmp2020's piano instruction again, to the Bryn Mawr Conservatory of Music . He also started taking lessons in music theory, which led him to launch his composer birthday series here on steemit. Now, every time a famous composer has a birthday, I have 10 new classical pieces to listen to on youtube. It is fascinating to hear the different styles from each of these composers.

3. One performer at a time

Having developed an appreciation for classical music, what I also like to do now is to pick out a performer from one of the pieces that I am already familiar with and extend my knowledge by listening to two or three other pieces by that individual in an evening. Some of my favorite performers include:

Leon Fleischer

Hillary Hahn

Julia Fischer

Simone Dinnerstein

And I learned of most of them here on steemit!

4. Talk about it

I definitely don't think that I'd get as much enjoyment out of classical music if I couldn't talk about it with @cmp2020. As with most things, it helps if people around you share your interest. The metadata surrounding classical music can be almost as interesting as the music itself, but that metadata often needs to be shared to be appreciated.

5. Make a game out of it

This actually goes back to before I started listening to classical music. It is a holiday tradition that when we're on a long car drive during the holiday season, @cmp2020, his mother, and I will cover the information panel on the dashboard with our hand and race to guess the performer and title of whatever Christmas Carol comes on the radio next. We keep score, and whoever has the most points at the end of the car ride wins.

Now that @cmp2020 and I share an interest in classical music, we will often challenge each other to guess the composer and era (Baroque, Classical, Romantic, or Modern) of a classical piece when it comes on a programmed music station. Obviously, I usually lose to the music theory student, but I'll keep trying!

6. Learn about the people

Until recently, I thought of the classical music composers sort of like austere museum pieces. When you start learning about them, it turns out that there's all sorts of humor, drama, and tragedy, hidden out there in their life stories. For example, it's far more interesting to listen to Antonín Dvořák's Stabat Mater (Suffering Mother) when you learn from @steemswede that the piece is autobiographic, because Dvořák lost three of his own children. Another example is Gesualdo, who murdered his wife and got away with it. His music takes on a new dimension when you listen to it with that knowledge. Similarly, I understand that a German exchange student in @cmp2020's school this year was suitably surprised by the title of this Mozart piece:

When you learn to think of the composers as people instead of wax figures, it makes their music all that much more interesting.

7. Youtube, Pandora, and Music Choice are your friends

I have two primary styles of listening to classical music, active and passive. When I am actively listening to classical music, I go to the buffet, youtube. Maybe this is sacriligeous to a true enthusiast, but you actually don't have to listen to a whole hour and 23 minute symphony. I listen for as long as I enjoy it, then I find something else.

On the other hand, when I'm passively listening I'll listen to it on pandora or on musicchoice.com. I usually prefer pandora on a mobile device or desktop computer, but on cable TV, Music Choice is great, because they display little bits of trivia about the piece and composer that they're playing. If I'm working, or focusing on something else, but I just want to have some classical music on in the background, those are my weapons of choice.

8. See it live

There's nothing like seeing a classical piece performed live, and if you scout around, it doesn't have to cost much. We saw Faure's requiem at our church, and we saw a number of Baroque pieces by Bach, Vivaldi, and others, at the nearby Barnes Foundation. Both performances were free and very enjoyable.

Image Source: pixabay.com, License: CC0, Public Domain

9. When you see it live, listen to it on the Internet first

On the other hand, before I started listening to classical music, we saw two very expensive performances by the Philadelphia Orchestra. One was by Brahms, and I don't even remember who the second was - but it featured Lang Lang on piano. I didn't enjoy either of those performances anywhere near as much as the two mentioned above, and I think it was for a very simple reason. I was not familiar with the music before-hand. For me, having an idea of what to expect seems to make the experience far more enjoyable.

If you read The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do in Life and Business, this will probably make sense. It does to me, anyway.

So when you know you're going to see a piece performed live, pull it up on youtube and listen to it a few times. Contrary to what I wrote in rule #7, in this situation, you really do need to listen to the whole thing.

10. Follow these steemit accounts

There are many good steemit authors of articles about classical music. @cmp2020 and I have launched the @classical-music account, where we try to share the best of them. I'm sure I'm missing many, but the individual authors that come immediately to mind for you to follow are @cmp2020, @katharsisdrill, and @steemswede. These authors don't just share the music videos, but they give you some of that all-so-important context, too.

Please comment if you know others that should also be followed.

Conclusion

So that's it. I'm late to the game, and I'll never be an expert on classical music, but by following these simple rules I have changed my mindset and learned to enjoy listening to classical music. No guarantees, but I bet they will work for you, too.


Thank you for your time and attention.

Steve Palmer is an IT professional with three decades of professional experience in data communications and information systems. He holds a bachelor's degree in mathematics, a master's degree in computer science, and a master's degree in information systems and technology management. He has been awarded 3 US patents.
Follow: @remlaps
RSS for @remlaps, courtesy of streemian.com.

Sort:  

I enjoy classical music when it's followed by some dramatic and philosophical thinking. This might sound a bit of cliche but The Godfather soundtrack sums up my tought. And Andre Rieu performing The Godfather main theme sounded amazing.

I realize there are much better works than The Godfather's soundtrack but all of us related to the Godfather's music, because it's binded to the crucial parts of everyone's life - love, death, family, birth, marriage.

Sorry for this offtopic.

First of all, it's great that you and your son can enjoy this passion together.

Second, @cmp2020 is only 15 years old? How is it that he writes like a college professor and has as much musical knowledge as a professional historian? Good performer, too.

You must be damn proud!

Great tips to start learning and enjoying classic music. I actually think all your tips and suggestions apply to any topic someone may be interested in learning. I personally do like classical music a lot. However, I rarely spend quality time to listen and discover music of this genre. I know some pieces, and like to listen to them. I will take your suggestions, and start applying (some of) them as well as reserve some extra time, and hope this will give me even more appreciation for the genre.

Upvoted and also resteemed :)

Cool post. I was a music major (French Horn) in college, and still play (you can see some piano/guitar on my blog). But yah, there is still this stigma of classical music and it hasn't yet fully crossed into mainstream. People like Joshua Bell have helped, and some electronic music samples from classical pieces, but that's it.

Great post @remlaps!! Sorry that English is not my native language. It is difficult for me to express my own ideas about what classical music can do from a social point of view. Steemit could be the way to join our musical interests all around the world. Through the blockchains I think we can change the society, also in other countries who have less possibilities to progress if they only depend on his governors, kings or presidents. The benefits of classical music are so important in our lives, that we all can convert it in a tool to transform our soul, heart and mind. I think classical music makes us better persons. A person from China can appreciate a classical work the same as a person from Canada or USA. And that's a great advantage respect to other kinds of music.I'm so happy to find in Steemit people like you who can really appreciate what classical music means! Thanks for sharing @remlaps!

Sorry that English is not my native language.

No worries about that! Your English is far better than my Spanish, so if there's a language shortcoming, it's mine, not yours.

I definitely agree with you about the potential benefits from classical music in the age of block chain.

I think classical music has a way to sooth your soul, the older you get the more you can appreciate it. I don't need to learn to love classical, I just love it because it helps me think and it helps me keep calm. Everything else is pretty much trash except for Jazz and blues.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63639.69
ETH 2734.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61