Gesualdo: The Sinister Composer

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Carlo Gesualdo (1566 - 1613) was a man of many mysteries. He was an incredibly gifted composer and a member of high society (Royal). But as it often is, creativity was paired with insanity. Gesualdo was a dark man. Why do I say this? He murdered his wife (Donna Maria)  and the man he found in bed with her (Fabrizio Carafa). 

[Image Source: en.wikipedia License Public Domain]


Gesualdo wrote many incredible pieces and helped to structure what music would eventually become. But he is not generally remembered for what he contributed to music alone, but rather what he contributed to music, and what he was capable of getting away with. He was never convicted of his crimes, but rather chose to lock himself in his castle for the remainder of his life. He hired singers and musicians to entertain him in his solitude (Because he was that rich), and had his servants beat him daily. It is suspected that he suffered from depression, but if this was caused by the guilt he felt from his crimes, we will never know.  Gesualdo died in 1613 (after a second failed marriage,  and the death of his son). He died in isolation, unloved, and unwanted.

I wrote this article because I learned about Gesualdo from my music theory teacher. He recommended I listen to this piece, when he asked what I thought of the piece I said "It sounds kind of dark." He simply responded "Do you know anything about Gesualdo?" I responded "No was he a gambler?" (Cause we all know what that did to Mozart). He said "No worse, he murdered his wife and the man he found her sleeping with." I said "Hence the dark sound." 


If you want to read more about Gesualdo here is his Wikipedia Page.


This article shows that no matter what you have going for you, everyone has secrets, everyone has problems, and everyone has regrets. Thanks for reading this!


Side note: I said I wouldn't be able to post today, but I am. I was supposed to stay with my grandfather, but he got sick so I'm home.



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 67928.13
ETH 3777.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75