Seeing A Perfect Circle for the first time, 14-June-18

in #music6 years ago

InShot_20180614_233522958.jpg

Finally got to watch A Perfect Circle play after years of being a fan. I've never seen Maynard James Keenan's other music projects, Tool or Puscifer live before, so was special for me to see him in the flesh for the first time.

Not a mosh pit kind of gig, but there were some great moments of music immersion. They played a lot of their new album, like The Doomed, Talktalk and Disillusioned. Played a few good oldies like Weak and Powerless, Gravity, The Hollow. Sadly, they didn't play my favourites, Blue, 3 Libras or Judith :(

Here's the video of Judith if you feel like some rock:

Haven't been to a gig in O2 Academy Brixton in over 7 years, and I have to say, things have really changed, this venue is ridiculous. Never have I been to a gig where females and males are segregated just to get in, and I was separated from my group (of all males) for 15 mins, wtf?! Made the most out of it by chatting to some ladies about Tool and APC, which was cool at least..

Glad for the band that they had 2 sold out gigs in London, there were long queues to get in, even an hr and a half after doors opened, and it was jam packed and very sweaty inside! I wish I saw them years ago when gigs were less controlled, but oh well. Not the best gig I've been to, but still a very special night :)

Sort:  

Awesome. Sad about the venue problems though. That sounds unusual.

The Judith video has often been referenced from other musicians wanting me to make videos. That's great example of an effortlessly cool performance video. A video I made for a band called Paradise Lost actually cited that video as a visual reference.

Glad it was a special night, but I agree it was probably a better and circumstances back in the day.

Ah that's cool! I know of paradise lost, which video is it that you made for them?? :)

I made this one with them in 2015, for Beneath Broken Earth

Great work man! I see what you mean about using the Judith video as a reference!!

Then Blood and Chaos in August last year

Funny how different this song is, almost reminds me of Rammstein. Whereas the other song reminded me more of Crowbar and Neurosis. Another great video though, love the twist in the end! Hope you continue to make more vids for bands :)

I think PL always have a mixed reaction from fans, as some expect the more classic doom flavoured styles as per the first video, but others welcome the more contemporary.

Can't please them all!

Haha yup you never can..

Wow did not realise how Brixton Academy has changed in such a long time. Granted there have been some great gigging venues over the years but i miss the Astoria and Marqee club if truth be told.

Gigs used to be energetic and trouble free for the most part and everyone was just out to have a good time.

Yea shame isn't it.. I was told that it could be because it's Brixton that the security was a bit more militant. I went to a gig in Hammersmith apollo not long ago and nothing like this happened!

Red soooooo cool!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79