Indie Artist

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Facebook Header.jpg

I've created accounts and tried Myspace, Facebook, Youtube, Twitter, Instagram, Soundcloud, Bandcamp, and a bunch of other sites to spread the word about my music. I failed at all of them. Usually ignored, maybe people don't have time to listen to new music...

I hope steemit is different, because there is no social platform for independent artists that actually works.

I invested in sponsored ads (approx. $25) on other sites to see what people would say about my music. The results were bad, no ROI and I mostly received hate mail from people complaining as to why I'm in their feed. Others may have wonderful experiences, but myself... social media does not define an artist. I am not an internet band or creation. Platforms are simply there to assist creators, not to define or make people into artists. Becoming an artist takes a lot of courage, patience, and hard work in defining and refining your craft.

I hope others are able to accomplish their goals, and congratulations to those who turned their passion into a professional career.

I'm still very much a struggling artist, despite all my schooling and accolades. I am here to simply share the art I created, and hopefully one day someone might stumble upon it.

I'd like challenge people's idea of what an artist is in today's Universe. I am the songwriter, mixer, engineer, producer, lyricist, arranger, photographer, director, instrumentalist, and album cover creator all wrapped into one.

I'd also like to change people's conceptions as to what can be accomplished by recording a song or album on a laptop. My theory is that my computer will eventually one day beat your Record Plant. The music you hear was recorded with one microphone, a student version of ProTools, and a Mac in a bedroom.

I taught myself to play many instruments, learned to mix and master by watching Youtube videos, and performed live on stage at over 500 open mics across Los Angeles and the country.

I'd like to hear other artists' stories. What made you successful, or what are you doing to become successful in this chaotic and sometimes psychotic business of music.

I am not a brand, or a corporation, and refuse to be labeled in that fashion.

I'm an artist.

https://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/robert-popa/id164259944

Sort:  

Completely understand the feeling :) Being an artist of any sort is a challenge -- the secret is treating it more like a business.

(don't vote on this---not about the money and it is old) BUT this book is how I turned my creative talents into a business -- true, the book is aimed at classical arts (yet again... BUT the model still applies).

https://steemit.com/@clevercreator/the-myth-of-the-starving-artist

Welcome to Steemit!

Welcome to steemit :)

Pleasure being here

I've found solace in community. If you manage to really connect with a vibrant community, its much easier to just be yourself and live abundantly. Finding such a community can be hard sometimes and maintaining it even harder, but it's inevitable if we want to be more than just brands.

Nice to have you here.

Cheers to you

contact @wishmaiden when you get the chance. You are a musician and there is a great place on here for musicians welcome to steemit I resteemed you to all my followers

Thanks for the tip

You forgot your Google Music link.

https://play.google.com/music/m/Arsycs6o2ljxay3ymushvy2qst4?t=Robert_Popa

There you go. :D

Much thanks!

nice post. keep doing the good work

Much thanx : )

Way to get yourself out there!!! Great post.

Thank you : )

Welcome to SteemIt @r0bb1e ! I do think this platform is way different. It does serve artists and content creators in a better form. Good luck!

It seems to be very different, a nice change I must say

If you can get the word out via all of your other platforms, this one and Patreon seem to be a good go to for artists of all kinds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67416.66
ETH 3475.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67