||| One of Worlds Best Guitarist Mark Knopfler (Dire Straits) ||| Excellent off-Mainstream Soundtrack |||

in #music7 years ago (edited)

In an earlier post I already presented you Mark Knopfler - one of the greatest guitarist on planet earth and the lead guy from the immensely popular band in the 80s "Dire Straits". In that post (here) I wrote:

Mark Knopfler - the English Guitarist who founded The Dire Straits with his brother David - in the 70s - a very successful band back in the days - has also a very reputable and successful solo career. Although I loved the Dire Straits, I loved the solo works of Mark even more. He started his solo career by making soundtracks, with the first ever "Local Hero" released in 1983. A year later, he produced his second solo album "Cal", also a soundtrack.

I also wrote:

It is this album I listened to so many times throughout the years, I will be shocked when I would know the exact number. I started listening to this from CD. I had multiple copies of this CD to have it available everywhere. It was the album I had on my first ever PDA, a windows based system, late 90s it must have been. It was one of the first albums I searched for on TIDAL and Spotify. I'm not sure what it is, but Cal is able to make me happy and de-stressed at the same time in - almost - an instant. The movie I did see as well, but to be honest, I don't know a lot about it anymore, but the music I will never ever forget and will likely continue listening to for the rest of my life.

I mentioned his first ever soundtrack he created "Local Hero". Also this album I have on all my music devices and in my album overviews at all my online music services, all the time ready at hand to listen to when I like. And as the soundtrack "Cal", I regularly press the play button of this soundtrack "Local Hero". I simply love the music! A mix between instrumental and vocals, a mix between movie music and band-like music. A mix of traditional, folk type of instruments and more mainstream ones. I love the ocean sounds mixed in various of the tracks.

Artist: Mark Knopfler
Album: Local Hero OST
Year: 1983
Country: UK

Hit the Play Button and NJOY


Tracks

The Rocks & The Water
Wild Theme
Freeway Flyer
Boomtown (Variation Louis' Favourite)
The Way It Always Starts
The Rocks & The Thunder
The Ceilidh & The Northern Lights
The Mist Covered Mountains
The Ceilidh: Louis Favourite - Billy's Tune
Whistle Theme
Smooching
Stargazer
The Rocks & The Thunder
Going Home: Theme Of The Local Hero

Music

Spotify
Soundcloud
YouTube
MixCloud

Discography

Discogs

Gigs

Artist website

Artist

Website


sources [1]
brought to you by @qsounds managed by @edje


Sort:  

One of the greatest guitarist together with Eric Clapton :-)

I vote for David Gilmour as the best living guitarist)

I agree :) Although I don't know all the guitar players for sure

Yesss! this is inspirational. His style is so unique

Your a quite right! :)

Absolutely a great artists.

I grew up listening to Dire Straits and still love them. Mark is amazing indeed!

Although I can not judge the skills of Knopfler. But funnily enough, I actually had the song "Sultan's Of Swing" in my ear yesterday - I do not know why ... ;-)

That is a GREAT piece of music! Dire Straits is timeless IMHO and they set some examples and levels of quality back in the days! That is probably you had Sultans in Swings in your ears :)

Nice! Upvotet and resteemed

Thank you for the support.

Dat was één van mijn favorieten... tevens één van de beste gitaristen.

Dan kunnen we elkaars handen schudden! :)

Ah yes, Dire Straits. Mark Knopfler is an underrated composer and producer for sure.

Correct, Dire Straits a lot of people know, but Mark's solo career (much) less.

People will be surprised by his discography and other affiliated work.

Yep, I know :)

One of the best singer/songwriters to ever live, and a fantastic guitar player. You just cannot go around Mark Knopfler and the Dire Straits, if you like music.

I totally agree!

Mark Knopfler was a big influence on me for playing guitar when I was starting on the instrument, I wasn't know about that album, thanks.

You're Welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67402.68
ETH 3481.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65