Suite "Cartas a Betty" piece nº3- Donde estas?: How I became a "composer" being a drummer

in #music6 years ago

Hello Steemit!

Today I want to show you some more of my final composition work in the "U.C.A" (Argentine Catholic University.

In this post series, I tell a little about my first experiences composing under a classic style (post-romantic, impressionist). I am a popular musician (drummer), used to compose for instrumental groups of different styles (jazz, funk, rock, soul, etc), but these are my first experiences composing for a single instrument, the piano.

Today I would like to share piece nº 3 of my suite "Cartas a Betty" called: "Donde estas?"( Where are you?). This is a piano suite that I composed in homage to my grandparents Betty and Robert, which is based on a series of love letters written by themselves.
The history of the suite is located in the 50's in Concordia city, in the province of Entre Rios Argentina where my grandfather lived; my grandmother lived in a small town in the middle of the countryside.
In the previous piece ("Y?"), The anguish and uncertainty began to increase, my grandfather was beginning to wonder, what happened to Betty ?. In this piece (nº3), those feelings keep growing.
In a time when there was no cell phone to call, no mail to send; my grandfather could only wait, wait and wait ...
blanco-negro-silla.jpg

If you had known my grandfather, you would know about his calm character, his serenity, his patience and love for simple things. This is the version that I get to know, macerated by the years, by the experiences and by the life itself; a wise version.
But how would my grandfather have been at the age of 17, 18, in this situation? ... well ... I can only imagine that.
If we get impatient to wait 15 minutes in 2018, imagine waiting 1 or 2 weeks, in 1950.

Here is the score: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1cWAfq_P9wrKP8XnTOiwrl6cNdOSCG7mH/view?usp=sharing

Form and Structure
This piece has a "Rounded Binari" form, composed by a part "A" (a-a '), the main theme of the work, and a part "B" (b-a' '), where the second theme appears, similar in character to the part "A" with the particularity of the re-exposure of a fragment of theme "A"within the structure of theme "B".
Final structure: A [: a-a ':] - B [: b-a' ':]

I invite you to visit my previous posts where you can not only listen to pieces 1 and 2, but also read their stories.
-Pieza nº1: https://steemit.com/spanish/@piterman/como-pase-de-baterista-a-compositor-suite-cartas-a-betty-hola-betty
-Pieza nº 2: https://steemit.com/spanish/@piterman/de-baterista-a-compositor-suite-cartas-a-betty-pieza-no2-y

moco.jpg

I hope you like it! Any question or suggestion is welcome!

Sincerely, @piterman

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64403.69
ETH 3463.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50