Suite "Cartas a Betty" piece nº2 Y? : How I became a "composer" being a drummer

in #music7 years ago

In my previous post (https://steemit.com/spanish/@piterman/como-pase-de-baterista-a-compositor-suite-cartas-a-betty-hola-betty) I tell the story behind my suite for piano "Cartas to Betty", a suite based on a series of letters that my grandparents sent when they met and were engaged, towards the end of the 50 'in the province of Entre Rios Argentina.
These letters show situations and conflicts typical of an era where communication was complicated and distances became longer, especially between 2 people who lived in different cities.

Today I would like to show you the piece nº2 that is entitled: Y ?.
Unlike the previous piece ("Hola Betty") based on a letter where my grandfather began the hard work of conquering my grandmother; This piece ("Y?") presents a different situation. After a few days of rain, the route to my grandmother's village was completely filled with mud, completely isolating the town from all communication.
Leaving my grandfather with nothing to do but wait.
edward-9.jpg

This situation of uncertainty and anguish will last a few more letters, where my grandfather worried about not receiving any response from my grandmother, will continue writing, hoping that one day she will answer anxiously to arrange his next date.

Here is the link to the score: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1cWAfq_P9wrKP8XnTOiwrl6cNdOSCG7mH/view?usp=sharing

In this post series (there will be 5), I will tell you a little about what it means for me to compose music with a classic imprint, being a popular musician; which requires a little differently way of thinking. Accustomed to compose for jazz trio or rock bands; the mechanisms and resources of composition change, especially when you must compose for a single instrument like the piano.

When you compose for a popular instrumental group (jazz, soul, rock, pop, etc.) there are many elements and decisions linked to the performer and his abilities, you could say that you think not only about the music, but also about who we want to play it ( at least that's how my head works haha) That's why when we hear the same song, but played by 2 different groups, it can sound like 2 completely different songs, 2 different compositions. So important is the role of the interpreter in popular music.

In classical music the interpretation is also very important, we will find many different interpretations on the same work, some better than others; But Mozart will always sound like Mozart, Beethoven will always sound like Beethoven and Debussy will always sound like Debussy. By this I mean that in classical music the weight of the composition itself is such that it exceeds the weight of the performer.

I hope you like it! Any question or suggestion is welcome!

Sincerely, @piterman

Sort:  

Just beautiful! :D

Thanks you so much! :D

Oh, I loved it. Again! Jaja

thanks bro! hahaa

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45