You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are You Too Old to DJ??? Find out the Answer with 'DJ & PRODUCER TIPS Series #5'

in #music6 years ago

It's great to see a post like this. I djd for several years. It was nice for a while but it was too stressful of a lifestyle for me. I was working multiple jobs to pay for my records and travel. I was earning some but not much because promotors shorting or stiffing. The drama got to be. Plus I learned I had anxiety to where it became more difficult to be in the spotlight as a dj, even on such a small level. So after my first booking in 1998 to retiring in 2005 basically I looked for another avenue. I got a recording engineering certification then became a post production audio layback operator for tv shows and movies. It was an actual full-time job with good pay, benefits, pretty good work environment, cool work duties, and I was pretty good because of all those years learning to beatmatch. My job was basically beatmatching (syncing) audio to video. Sometimes I think about DJing again, altho ragga jungle isn't so popular, but I know the lifestyle isn't something I can be fully engulfed in again. But it opened the door for something that was a lot more rewarding for me. DJing was an invaluable experience because of that. The skills of mixing combined with networking are skills that translate into many opportunities. So, I say learn to dj, be a dj, do what makes you feel fulfilled. Age shouldn't be a barrier. So thanks for your post! Motivational!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62604.24
ETH 3437.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50