Guitar Tutorial - '' The improv Toolbox'' Extra Lesson : Developing your own ideas , Recording your practice sessions.

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit friends !

Today I am signing in for a little lesson , Im putting it as an ''extra lesson'' because today I wont talk about music theory , but just a practice concept and a way I think you can improve a lot faster and more effectively .

Any teacher will tell you that a good way to improve your musical language is to transcribe solos , solos from musicians you admire and try to adapt their ideas to your playing ( I agree ) . When I was in music college I transcribed lots of solos from musicians i liked like Jim Hall , Chet Baker , Miles Davis , Mike Stern , Scott Henderson and and being a rock/blues guy at heart I did try to emulate Eric Johnson for a long time before figuring out it's impossible to sound like him hahaha.
Michael Landau is also one of my guitar heroes and big influence on my playing. Robben Ford? of course ! .. list goes on an on .

Anyways , I believe once you get the grasp of a particular concept or idea it is important to morph it into your own playing , do your own version and develop your own ideas over time. When you start mixing all of this into a big pot of ideas eventually over time your own voice will start appearing . Your tone , ideas and playing will reflect your influences but you will not sound like a copycat .

So , how do we work this out??

Today I'd like to share this little idea that might help you .

When I'm improvising or working a chord progression out I like to record myself , I just set an audio or video recorder in front of me , nothing fancy.

Then I start doing a series of ''takes'' , varying from 1 - 3 minutes . Try something until I lose control over the idea , then hit record again and do another take and so on . You can do 5 , 10 , 15 , 20 ... as many as you want but be sure to STOP when you get burnt out . ( That point where anything you play doesn't work... just stop , go have a glass of water , take a little walk , relax for a while before coming back )

After you' ve done the takes , forget about them for a couple hours, or maybe a day , then come back to the recordings and start analyzing what you played .

I might ask me this questions when I listen back:

  • Are the melodies strong?
  • Is the tempo rushed , lagging or on time?
  • Is the phrasing interesting?
  • Am I following the chord changes?
  • Does this rock/jazz/blues/metal/whatever type of vibe work over this?
  • Is the tone ''correct'' for the situation?

You can keep asking questions and be very analytical over your playing only AFTER you have recorded it , the effect you get as a listener is very different of when you are actually playing.

I have had many situations in where i thought what i was playing was great and after listening back I got disappointed and viceversa. So recording yourself is really important for this type of work.

Keep a blog of your progress! I have recordings of practice sessions , ideas, compositions going back to 2011 , whenever I look for inspiration i go there and see if I can develop an idea i left forgotten and keep polishing it .

An example? Sure ! :)

Yesterday I was working on quite a tough progression . So i did my ''series of takes'' , here I am sharing a couple , there are mistakes ;) , don't be afraid to make them .. after all you are practicing !
( sometimes mistakes can turn into interesting ideas , so just go for it )

This is the backing track I used:

I hope this little concept inspires your practicing :)
What do you think of this idea?

Thanks for reading !

Signing off

Pechiche Mena

Sort:  

Thank you for breaking the monotony of low quality posts on the music sub.
I'm always looking around here for people who post informative and inspired content.
Thank you!

Thank you so much @dokkodo , Im so happy to know that what Im sharing is interesting information . Hope i can keep contributing to the community . Cheers!

Very nice post sharing your way of work and creating music. Nice details. Although I'm not a musician, I really hope this will help others in our community to learn playing an instrument.

Thank you again @qsounds for your continued support. I hope I can be of some help for the musicians in this community , i'll try and share all i can :)

Sounds good! :)

Another great share.
also thanks for sharing the video with us.

Thank you @mdo for your comment , I appreciate it :) . I will keep posting ! cheers!

Holdsworth-ee.... nice!
I'm new to Steemit and I put up a fusion-ee piece called Electric Corn Flakes!
I will dig into your music and I trust you have some completed instrumentals as well as your teaching demonstrating materials
Keep up the fine playing Pechiche and howdee from Canada!

Howdee @ronfuller ! Welcome to steemit ! I hope to hear more from you ! I already heard your song ! rock on! I will post some more originals , I did post a couple of them though :).

Thank you for your comment , I'm glad you liked the material and I hope I can be of more help in future tutorials . Cheers!

P.D : I love Allan Holdsworth , he was not of this world , we can only try and emulate a little of his sound , his chops are waaaaay to hard! hahaha .

"was" Still gettin my head around that one but we all gotta go sometime right? I'm going hunting for some of your prev music posts. All the best! Great vibe, great playing!

cheers my friend! thank you for your comments ! :)

Hermano, lei lo que escribiste pero no puedo ver los videos, me gustaria que me recomendaras musicos de los cuales estudiar, yo no soy un guitarrista virtuoso y es algo que debo reforzar, confieso que soy muy mal estudiante, cualquier tip seria excelente, un abrazo!

hola hermano , si quieres improvisar te recomendaria escuchar a los clasicos buenos improvisadores , Jim Hall , Chet Baker , Miles Davis en jazz , BB King , Albert King son grandes referentes para blues , todos ellos maestros en decir mucho con pocas notas , los recomiendo para estudiar en cualquier nivel .

Alguna razon por la cual no puedas ver los videos??

Abrazo!

mi conexion a internet, llevo 4 años sin internet en el apartamento por un problema de cableado de parte de quienes dan los servicios, hago thetering con el plan de datos del dinero, pero llevo desde que llevo en steemit aplicando esa del thetering

wow , 4 años ! que desastre ! espero puedas solucionar eso lo mas pronto posible , me alegro mucho que hagas el esfuerzo de estar en la comunidad a pesar de no tener internet en el apartamento :) . un gran abrazo !

Congratulations @pechichemena! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Genial! Muy buenos consejos.

muchas gracias @joedukeg , me alegra que te haya gustado el post

Aprovecho para decirte que soy músico también, actualmente estoy estudiando, me gusta mucho tu sonido. Estoy compartiendo material relacionado a música, más que todo lo que toco y estudio, viendo que ya estas un poco avanzado me gustaría contar con tu apreciación acerca de lo que voy a estar compartiendo, críticas y comentarios serán bien recibidos. Un saludo!

Hola @joedukeg , que bueno , mas músicos en la comunidad que quieran compartir material didáctico :) . Voy a estar siguiendo tus posts y claro cuenta conmigo para cualquier opinion , pregunta o ayuda . Gracias por tu comentario y saludos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52