Back at my home studio - Trying new gear . Guitar Q&A.

in #music6 years ago

Hello Steemit!

Well , vacation is over! .. I'm finally back at my place in Buenos Aires and setting up my home studio again for coming back with my music and production tutorials. I also purchased a new camera so I hope to be able to do some music VLOG soon enough, I still to get a few gear pieces together.

I was thinking to put a ''Music Q&A'' for my VLOG. I would like to take questions from my fellow steemian musicians and guitarists and answer them in a more personal way, this way I can be a little more direct with the tutorials I upload. I will still be doing my ''Improv Toolbox'' and ''Producer's Toolbox'' , this would be a separate project. What do you think?

I also purchased an IR loader and FX unit called ''Cerberus'' from the company NUX, this way I can silent record at any time of the day for my videos and don't depend on the neighbors being quiet! hahaha. Here's the unit if you want to check it out , I am just starting to test it out:

http://www.nuxefx.com/index.php?m=content&c=index&a=show&catid=72&id=272

Seems to work fine for me, here is an improv clip:

So, what do you think of this Q&A? You can ask me anything about guitars, music, theory, improv , note choice, request examples, etc. I'll try to do videos giving my best answers to the steemians that wish to participate, maybe we can learn something new from each other!

I'll do some shameless tagging here @philodendron, @hz432creations , @ale.tripoli... are you up for a question?

Thanks for reading and listening!

Pechiche Mena

export (2).png

Sort:  

Tenía tiempo que no me pasaba por tu blog Pechi, qué grata sosrpresa encontrarme con esto. Impecable y muy bonito. Bastante distinto a lo que solías hacer para el songwriter. Se nota bastante el trabajo del estudio profundo musical que llevas contigo. Un abrazo!

Hola @miguelarl! muchas gracias ! si , es muy distinto lo q hago en el ''mundo guitarristico'' supongo jajaj , pero eso es lo lindo de la música! nunca terminas de aprender. Muchas gracias por comentar y te mando tambien un gran abrazo!

Hi how are you? Really nice post and guitar skill man, i love it ! I’m a new steemit user and would like to connect with other cool steemians, artists and musicians. I’m posting music tutorials and other things related to music (and bitcoins:p). I’m the founder of the free music school communicasound. I'm really pleased to meet you. So i give you my vote, follow you and i will be happy to read your next posts in the futur. If you want, you can do the same and follow me. It’s important to have a family in Steemit :) Greetings from Paris. Peace.

Thank you very much @communicasound ! first of all welcome to Steemit! and i am happy to see projects revolving around music education , I'm a music teacher myself and I really believe in bringing free material to whoever wants lo learn something about this wonderful art of music. I just went through your channel , quick tip , try not to post too much per day as this will not let people that follow you check your content effectively . A healthy ratio would be 1-2 posts per day. Greetings and I wish you the best in this platform, feel free to write me for anything you might need. Cheers!

I'm really glad to connect with a music teacher (how long have you been teaching?) and music lover and i have dully noted your advise :) About communicasound, i have launch this project two years ago and i work everyday on it on the other social platforms for free :) It's a huge amount of work and time but i really want people who can't afford it to learn music theory and music with the best contents. I look forward to reading and supporting your next posts. Have a great evening. Peace. CS

Glad you're back Pechhhh, I've been away from Steemit a little bit this last weeks but Ill try to catch up later on...
I've been really thinking about this topic over the past months, I'm kind of inspired and really keen on musicians that doesn't necessarily play ''good'' or with the ''correct technique'' but they have a really particular sound and they have the ability to inspire and to transmit emotions to the listener ... (Jeff Beck, Nirvana, Eduardo mateo, you get the idea)
So the question is... Do you think that chasing this ability is more important that learning scales/shapes/theory/technique ? Or vice versa ? Or both sides are equal as important?

Tripolator ! thanks . hey , come find me on discord. And btw.. that is a great question! I'll get to work on it , thanks!

I'll start with the questions for your vlog.

  1. Do you believe that learning to sing is beneficial to your guitar improvisation skills yes/ no why, or why not and if yes... how?

  2. Do you believe is necessary to practice shapes for soloing, and if what could be the benefits or practicing them, if any, or the cons if any.

  3. Do you believe that you can be a great musician without ever learning theory? If yes, why... if no... why not?

Great questions brother. I'll get to work!

It is definitely a good idea to do a Q&A, I will have many many questions for you for shure! To start off I would ask you a gear question; pickups, there are so many kinds, some guitars have more than others, single or double humbuckers,some for acoustics... I'd love to have your opinion on those, which are best for what, when should they be changed and why, maybe an overview on the subject because it's an important component of the sound and not many people elaborate on it.

Cual es tu internet Menisky

Amazing sound! So crisp and clean. And not that pricey at all for something like that.

I also really loved hearing/seeing your improv.

thank you @thetimminator! and sorry for the late response.. this post just slipped by ! yes.. i found that little gadget to be very useful! cheers and thanks for commenting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01