Lie to Me - (acoustic cover) - Original song by MenO

in #music5 years ago (edited)

I recorded this last year because it's my favorite song by my dear friend, @meno. I haven't been in contact with him as much as I'd like lately, as life gets busy and such.. but I came across this song and wanted to share it again. I miss you, Meno!

Meno's version is much more .. how do I say it ?.. Rawwwwwr.

Of course, I folked it down a bit. Basically, you might say I gutted it. Stripped to the bone. But singing it that way makes me happy, seeing as how I can't actually sing it the way Meno does. His high notes destroy me. Mad respect for your bellowing abilities, dear Meno.

I trimmed the video down, cutting out the intro because I have been sharing these on my YouTube and I don't like advertising my blockchain stuff there. I'm quite a private person in many ways, but I'd like to share Meno's music with the world.

This whole idea was inspired by the #coverasteemian initiative by @pechichemena. Had I not been trying to think of someone incredibly awesome to cover for that challenge, then this never would have happened.

Therefore, I have set beneficiaries to this post 50/50 between Meno and Pechi. They both deserve it.

Thanks to all who listen.

Lyrics

I'm looking for a reason
to touch your hands
I'm searching for the seasons
I'm writing down my plan

'Cause in my mind you live with me
and in my heart you never leave
lets pretend you 't have to go
and let me kiss you, don't say no

And lie, please lie
to me

And lie, your lies
can set this writer.. free

And tell me that you miss me
as much as I do

And tell me I'm not crazy
for dreaming about you
please just lie to me

I really want to touch you
but I know that I cant
I really want to hold you
and be called your man

'Cause in my mind you live with me
and in my heart you never leave
lets pretend you don't have to go
and let me kiss you, don't say no

And lie, please lie
to me
And lie, your lies
can set this writer free

And tell me that you miss me
as much as I do

And tell me im not crazy
for dreaming about you

And lie, please lie
to me

And lie, your lies
can set this writer free

And tell me that you miss me
as much as I do
and tell me I'm not crazy
for dreaming about you

Please, just lie to me

"Lie to Me" original lyrics and music © MenO

And, you must hear Meno's original. If you've never heard him sing and play, you are in for a real treat.

Have a great day!

Love always,

♥ - serena

Sort:  

You know, I've liked this song since the first time I heard Meno do it on steemix.
You take it to a different place with your stripped back version, it really brings out the emotion in the song this way. I like this a lot!

Sorry, my bot took a nap again, I never realised they mimicked humans that much. !COFFEEA 15

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for sharing your great work with us!
Your post has been upvoted and resteemed manually by WiMusic (@pasle). Your Steemit Music Source.

Posted using Partiko Android

Lovely <3 Also super sweet to share post rewards. I didn't follow you so far - corrected that mistake :P Keep on singing! <3

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

What a beautiful tuned voice you have, this sounds really beautiful, I loved it, l greetings!

When great minds collide amazing things can happen, you have a beautiful way with music that makes it enchanting, combined with @meno and his exceptional lyrics it’s a match made in heaven. It’s such an awesome idea by @pechichemena to create #covetsteemian I hope more people take it up. !COFFEEA 15

Posted using Partiko iOS

coffeea Lucky you @paintingangels here is your COFFEEA, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com Vote for c0ff33a as Witness

Beautiful cover. I know he will be crying when he hears this!


This post has been curated due to its unique musical content. We sent you some ATOM via Steam-Engine.com
Use your ATOM to get upvotes from @MusicVoter2 via our Discord.

Earn more ATOM tokens listening to independent music on AtomCollectorRecords.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69430.02
ETH 3814.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66