last weekends happenings

in #music6 years ago

IMG_5703.JPG

Seems like with the new studio getting set up, I’ve been putting more time into that and less into writing here. I think this is a good thing for now. I got a little too obsessed with the whole crypto space. But I really need to be more focussed on music. Especially paying for the studio space, I need to make the most of it.

I’d like to keep writing, so I’m going to try and do it once or twice a week

IMG_5668.JPG

Saturday morning my wife had some info about the Lincoln Center band playing a free concert. Not sure how she found out about it, but I wanted to go. It was raining the whole week, but lucky on this day it was snowing! Being from Australia I don’t think I can get tired of the snow as we hardly ever see it.

I didn’t think the band would play because their hands must start to freeze up. But they were there playing and in good spirits having a good time.

They change the band at the Lincoln Center every few weeks. This time is the Bria Skonberg Quintet. The bands that come out are always top notch. They do play a particular type of jazz. I guess it’s Wynton Mysales influence and his vision for what jazz is about.

I was impressed with the upright bass sound. It was loud, but also quite a natural sound. It was a massive sound system (which probably helps), but I wanted to ask what kind of pickups he was using. Didn’t get a chance though.


Later that night I had a different kind of gig. This one was with a bunch of classical musicians, so things were done in a different way than I’m used to. The main difference is the reading.

I do see it as a valuable skill and I need to work more on that. The problem I found is that they just look at the page and if they get lost, they generally can’t find their way back.

It is interesting to see that they put all their effort into reading and perfecting the piece, where as jazz is more about improvising, interacting and covering your mistakes.

IMG_5690.JPG

It seemed to go reasonably well. I can’t say that it was a ‘fantastic’ performance as there were too many mistakes and miss communications. It is always nice to play with larger groups like this. We had 2 keys, 2 violins, 2 bass (upright and electric), drums, percussion and a rapper.

The cool thing about this gig was that each musician got to choose 2 songs each to present and talk a little to the audience. I chose “what is Hip” by Tower of Power, and “Papa was a Rollin Stone” by the Temptations.

The keyboard player Yeye spent all week making charts for What is Hip. It’s got a few different sections, but these classical guys need it all written out so they can follow. Well….it was a little ambitious I think. Could have done with a couple more rehearsals.

I wrote the chart for Papa was a Rollin Stone, but I didn’t write it clear enough so the violin players finished the song a few minutes early. Haha

I forgot to put a sign that the solo would repeat until cue….. Anyway, I have a better idea of how to deal with this situation next time.

I was impressed with this beautiful little venue. They have a shop at the front and a bar at the back. And the bar is only open for events so it’s only a couple of times a month. Only fits about 50 people too which is nice and cosy.

IMG_5685.JPG

Could have fit another 10 people in if Yeye cut down on some keyboards though…


Then on Sunday we had some kind of Xmas event downtown with the gypsy jazz guys.

I still haven’t found a good sound with the Shadow pickups. I think I need to start bringing my amp for these kind of events. The bass always ends up sounding too boomy, and too quiet most of the time too. I’d like it to sound more natural and with more definition.

This gig went down super smooth. Just played some of the usual, some originals and a couple of Xmas songs too. Got to admit though, I really don’t enjoy playing Xmas carrols. Marc did a good job re-harmonizing them though.

KSJU4569_Moment.jpg

These guys are a good hang. They are always serious about the sound, and it seems they want to develop the group and write more originals.

Sort:  

Thank you owain82220! You've just received an upvote of 80% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72