Tonic Sol-fa (why do we need them?)

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians

Welcome to my blog once more
Today am going to be discussing on tonic Sol-fa or solfa notations as I prefer to call them

solfege.jpg

First of all like I said in my previous post solfa is just simply the normal do re MI far so la ti do we all know but today I want to give a more detailed explanation on solfa.

So I decided to get a web definition which turned out to be the same thing I learnt from music school.

According to wiki

Tonic Sol-fa is a pedagogical technique for teaching sight-singing.

I know a normal Joe won't actually understand this but if your read my previous post, you would get it that solfa is just what guides music.

images (3).jpg

Solfa was said to be invented by Sarah Ann Glover (1785–1867) of Norwich, England and was published by John Curwen. (according to my music teacher)
After doing some research it looks like Sarah was a teacher under John curwen's school and she invented solfa to help the children understand music cause the staffs where very much complicated even to an adult (lols)
So she just replaced the C D E F G A B with do re mi fa so la ti which can also be abrevated to there first letters i.e (d r m f s l t)

Some with ask why am I skipping the last do?

Well I have one answer
It's optional

But that's not all some also say solfa was invented by the monk Guido de Arezzo which he used to compose the Saint John hymn which is true.
But haven't research about him

In addiction finger signs were also invented to make solfa easy for the physically challenged ones and some times musical instructors make us of it instead of voicing.

PS: Solfa cant be used by percussionist

Why we need them

unnamed (1).png

Firstly and mostly we need solfa because it simplifies music on like staff
(Funny enough I still don't understand most part of staffs)

Solfas makes music look and sound more easy cause instead of learning the configuration of each staff for each key, you just learn your Solfas and you're done.

Although the solfa still has a complicated area (minors) but once the major is learnt and well digested there won't be much left to learn.

That's all we have for today, be sure to visit tomorrow for more lessons on solfa :-)


All images were gotten from Google.com


follow

@music-tuto

DQmRhDtjokAZnGKi4QwheqksKTFo6m4fsjMYsNNrsitC1xk.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66666.50
ETH 3503.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71