Calling America - ELO

in #music5 years ago (edited)

https://open.spotify.com/track/3kUOcSL8PdR9ZeiU4TPhFT?si=yPlizv88QemHY1udAq-Zqw

This song is just sooo good, it's definitely one of my favorite ELO songs. The lyrics and flow is just amazing, this combined with ELO's unique sound is a beautiful piece of art.

It has to have the best start to a song ever, "somebody" in a deep drifting voice and smacks into the song, although it comes suddenly, it does it making it feel remarkably natural.

The chorus and harmonies are pretty special and I love the way ELO tells us stories, quite simple ones, lyrical wise but complicated by the emotions brought on by the many layers of sound.

It's a shame they didn't get as much recognition compared to The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, but that's what happens when you are in the golden years of music which in my opinion is 60's to 90's.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you mrultracheese! You've just received an upvote of 69% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

I do like that song and I like the album. The other songs aren't as catchy but they grow on you. I had about 10 cassette tapes to choose from when I bought that album, so I had lots of time to listen to it. I think that's part of the problem now, we can listen to millions of songs, so new music doesn't get listened to as much as the old music, when most people could only afford to buy a small collection of albums. I think Muse, Arctic Monkeys, The Growlers, Tame Impala, The White Stripes, Kaiser Chiefs, The Flaming Lips, The Strokes and many more are as good as anything from earlier decades but they have much more competition.

True but maybe in say 20 years they will be being listened to. Maybe then they would be regarded in the same category. A lot of those bands also haven't had as much prolonged success which older bands seemed to have had.

Posted using Partiko Android

It's much harder to have prolonged success now, as there's much more competition. I also think almost all the groups from the 60s and 70s signed bad deals. They made almost nothing and had no choice but to keep making great music. Now, they make lots of money playing live and don't need to spend so much time making albums. Having said that, bands like Arctic Monkeys and Muse have had prolonged success. Damon Albarn has made over 25 albums, he's as good as any from earlier decades.

Posted using Partiko Android

True money is definitely a factor, but a lot of those bands have prolonged success that isn't really the same as previous generations. Like they haven't gotten many top charts recently and are really riding success on previous hits.

Posted using Partiko Android

Who cares about the charts now? It used to be a big deal but now it's all about playing live, as that's how they make the most money and its fun. Muse tour lots, they don't care about the top 40.

Posted using Partiko Android

True true, live is where the money is.

Posted using Partiko Android

The new is inspired by the old, most of the Beatles songs are based on older ones. I like this, bits of old and new

Posted using Partiko Android

I'll check it out thanks

Posted using Partiko Android


You just planted 0.09 tree(s)!


Thanks to @mrultracheese

We have planted already
6723.46 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 32209.25
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57621.01
ETH 3094.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32