Cave Recording - 'New' Music #3 - "Monday the Twentieth Blues in E minor"

in #music6 years ago


!! Automatic writing put to a blues shuffle direct to you from The Cave for your listening steemjoyment !!

For a deeper explanation of automatic writing go to: https://steemit.com/caveman/@montycashmusic/h5cyfqup

Thanks for listening, please upvote, comment and re-share, all the best and sending love!

Monty

Copyright Monty Cash Music 2018


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Monty, rock on man, this is very unique and reading your response to Carl Gnash is very interesting, hippie cave living is probably a pretty good stop to let some of that energy go, lock that creative energy into the block chain!

I appreciate what you are doing, and your message, but I do prefer to do my lyrics with pen and paper, I don't take too long, hardly ever more than an hour, but I do like to back up and adjust sometimes. But I write a song, a poem really, all in one go, then I sing it.

So I perhaps do make things a bit less spontaneous than your way might allow, perhaps to each their own style?

Love and Light Monty!

Heya ecoinstant,

Thanks for your response. Ya, living in the cave is the bomb!

I also write songs in your fashion and in more conventional methods. I'll re-organise automatic writing I've written before and put it in a verse chorus bridge instrumental format. Or something like that.

With this series I want to illuminate the use of automatic writing as a tool for self expression and also to show how easy things can be made into music.

In a future episode I will break down the same automatic writing and make it into a conventional song style and do it in less than ten minutes.

I want to take the hard work out of songwriting for people. I see that 'professional songwriting' has put it in a pandora's box for many people and it isn't like that at all.

It's easy!

In love,

Monty

Nice Blues impro, upvoted !!

Thank you man! All the best!

Hi montycashmusic,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you! You peeps are the bomb! x

groovy ;9) best of luck to ya in your travels. Cheers!

dude so what is the story with the cave? Just a place out there somewhere that you are squatting in? It was already kind of done up inside or you have done some interior designing? I looked back through some of your older posts to try to get the story sorry if you have already gone over this :)

I do similar things as far as spouting out lyrics over music, improvising songs that mostly just fade away but occasionally stick on the wall and become a more concrete thing. Automatic writing is a cool idea, I usually do it the other way around (improv lyrics while singing and playing, and then write them down) but I can see how automatic writing could be a great tool to release the mind. Much love - Carl

Hey Carl, thanks for your great comment. I also sing 'automatic words' without having written them down to music that I've either been working with or just a jam I'm having. My primary focus for sharing like this is that I want to create the awareness for people that have been made to believe that writing songs is hard work, that hey, you can basically sing anything and sometimes with a bit more work or even just as it is, it can be a great song. And, like you say, sometimes it 'sticks on the wall' and other times it just blows away in the wind.

Well, I'm a long-term traveler street performer. I write blog updates on the blog there which give more background as to my present cave situation. But a long story short is that I followed a friend to Crete from Turkey (I'd never been to Crete and I thought, why not?). So here I am, I made it to Matala in the south where there are a lot of caves and some of them are old Roman Crypts. Some of them are purely natural cave formations and some have been dug out proper by hippies from the 60s and 70s. Other caves have archeological history. It's a limestone coast so there are a lot of natural cave like formations in the rocks and cliffs around Matala and the nearby areas.

A bunch of hippies lived in the caves around the Matala town area who were forced out by the dictatorship regime in Greece in the 70s? I really don't know but I got a quick run-down from someone more in the know. Those caves are currently fenced and 2 euros is charged for entry to see them (I sing adapted lyrics from a Joni Mitchell song, Big Yellow Taxi that includes this in the song). Joni Mitchell visited Matala in her hey day and even wrote a song about it. She assisted in making it a hippie hotspot. So since the 60s and 70s Matala's been a hippie hot spot and has attracted the colourful tribes of the world.

Presently it's more like a hippie themed tourist town but occasionally waves of hippies come through and inhabit for a time.

I have a good friend in a cave nearby who is a horticulture and permaculture expert, he is developing the dry earth around one of the caves he has been excavating for his own private use. I am also doing some work on and around the cave I am in.

I have lived in many different situations around the world including squats, cult farms and eco-villages. In Matala I've found a place I can call home for a while before I continue my endless nomadic journey.

All the best,

Monty

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66650.28
ETH 3590.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.96