You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🎶 How To Help You Increase Your Vocal Range And Control 🎶

in #music7 years ago

I think the tip is referring more about the cadence or the character of how you speak, rather than the tonal range. I agree it's always of benefit to stretch your range and I would love to push my range further. I'll try some of your tips. I just speak in a lazy monotone, and trying to sing like Elliott Smith wasn't working for me, no matter how hard I wished it would. After two albums I really tried to figure out exactly what "my voice" is, now I feel a lot more of my own personality comes through in my music, instead of some kind of awful butchery of someone else's style.

Sort:  

That makes sense and I agree finding your own sound is really important, I have found that even when singing along with songs on the radio - I will add my own embellishments and flair.

I love complicated vocal gymnastics and I often find most songs and singers, have dead space that I would be filling with more texture and emotion.

I love so many different genres of music I have a difficult style to portray, but if I had to explain it I'd say it's a mix of metal, power ballad, opera with soul.

I wrote a lot of songs back at tafe when I studied music there, but don't have any of the recordings of my original work unfortunately - but here's a link to an entry I did for the #openmic contest on here a few months back https://steemit.com/openmic/@krystle/open-mic-week-12-in-the-arms-of-the-angel-cover-acapella

I keep loosing my voice for extended periods of time so haven't been able to enter, but hoping to get back into it again soon - have you entered on there?

Anyways thanks for the comments :)

You certainly have a gorgeous voice... I just can't pull such things off, after 20 years of songwriting and a few embarrassing albums (happy with the songs, unhappy with my singing), I've restricted myself to what I consider my limits, I think it's made my output infinitely more listenable, and there are popular artists I like who do the same.

Not everyone can hit a 3 or 4 octave range (I think 4.5 is the world record...) I might be able to hit two, if I'm lucky. There's definitely a genetic component to having a good singing voice. Know thy self...

I'm a downtrodden thrift store person with a downtrodden thrift store voice =P. Here are a couple of links to some tracks on my bandcamp and my sound cloud, if you're curious.

https://thevancouverspecial.bandcamp.com/track/stylus-on-a-record
https://thevancouverspecial.bandcamp.com/track/am-i-here-for-you
https://soundcloud.com/the-vancouver-special/here-comes-the-moon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43