You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🎶 How To Help You Increase Your Vocal Range And Control 🎶

in #music7 years ago

The best advice I read for improving my singing (I'm a song writer and home recorder) was "Sing how you speak." Since then I've found my natural singing style instead of trying to emulate other artists.
Something I can call my own.

Sort:  

As I mentioned in my post it is important to learn and stick within your natural vocal range, but there are methods some can use to extend that range.

As for "sing how you speak" I find that view rather limited most people only use a few notes in their natural speaking voice, to restrict your vocal range to that which you use to talk would wipe most people out of singing songs of any real complexity and range.

I do want to say I agree that voices sound better, clearer and smoother when you stick to the small middle ground of your range, but I believe once you build up muscle and control you can access notes you didn't previously have access to and are far beyond what would be considered the natural speaking range.

Each to his own though, I will also say that I mention in the post some songs with smaller vocal ranges that use tone and texture to embellish the sound and I enjoy these - I just wouldn't want to be restricted to this style personally.

I think the tip is referring more about the cadence or the character of how you speak, rather than the tonal range. I agree it's always of benefit to stretch your range and I would love to push my range further. I'll try some of your tips. I just speak in a lazy monotone, and trying to sing like Elliott Smith wasn't working for me, no matter how hard I wished it would. After two albums I really tried to figure out exactly what "my voice" is, now I feel a lot more of my own personality comes through in my music, instead of some kind of awful butchery of someone else's style.

That makes sense and I agree finding your own sound is really important, I have found that even when singing along with songs on the radio - I will add my own embellishments and flair.

I love complicated vocal gymnastics and I often find most songs and singers, have dead space that I would be filling with more texture and emotion.

I love so many different genres of music I have a difficult style to portray, but if I had to explain it I'd say it's a mix of metal, power ballad, opera with soul.

I wrote a lot of songs back at tafe when I studied music there, but don't have any of the recordings of my original work unfortunately - but here's a link to an entry I did for the #openmic contest on here a few months back https://steemit.com/openmic/@krystle/open-mic-week-12-in-the-arms-of-the-angel-cover-acapella

I keep loosing my voice for extended periods of time so haven't been able to enter, but hoping to get back into it again soon - have you entered on there?

Anyways thanks for the comments :)

You certainly have a gorgeous voice... I just can't pull such things off, after 20 years of songwriting and a few embarrassing albums (happy with the songs, unhappy with my singing), I've restricted myself to what I consider my limits, I think it's made my output infinitely more listenable, and there are popular artists I like who do the same.

Not everyone can hit a 3 or 4 octave range (I think 4.5 is the world record...) I might be able to hit two, if I'm lucky. There's definitely a genetic component to having a good singing voice. Know thy self...

I'm a downtrodden thrift store person with a downtrodden thrift store voice =P. Here are a couple of links to some tracks on my bandcamp and my sound cloud, if you're curious.

https://thevancouverspecial.bandcamp.com/track/stylus-on-a-record
https://thevancouverspecial.bandcamp.com/track/am-i-here-for-you
https://soundcloud.com/the-vancouver-special/here-comes-the-moon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41