I studied Mozart, but I ended up making Hip-Hop I.

in #music6 years ago (edited)


Source

Disclaimer

Ok, ok... certainly the title is a bit clickbaiter, so to avoid misunderstandings with people who want to comment poison without reading the full publication, I will use these first lines to clarify something: In my opinion, all musical genres have something interesting, have my respect and no discredit, much less discredit to those who are dedicated to making x's or y's genre instead of classical music or hard bebop. Having clarified this, I continue my reflection.

Before my muscle injury, I was 100% dedicated to academic music. Playing that kind of music requires an enormous skill, when you dedicate yourself to being a symphonic soloist or being in an important orchestra, you are comparable to a high-performance athlete. You have to be training all the holy days of your life, you have to have strict and perfectly planned training routines around the week in order to maintain your skills. I once read a great flutist (Enmanuel Pahud) say:

If you stop studying one day, you notice it. If you stop studying for two days, your wife notices. If you stop studying for three days, your family will notice. If you leave the instrument for a week, the whole world will notice.

Words plus words minus, the point is that devoting oneself to it is one of the most complex tasks ever and for having and, in this country, one of the worst paid. In spite of this, I continued with my determination to enter a professional orchestra, prepare myself to audition in some European conservatory and dedicate my life to Mozart and Bach. However, life hit me hard, and forced me to reinvent myself as a musician and as a human being.

When I was injured, the technique, the performance and the vibrato were no longer important, only that the flute sounded. Being in such a physical state, competing internationally was a utopia, an impossible out of place at a time in my life when what I needed was motivation, goals that merited microscopic steps to help me see the progress of rehabilitation.

Along the way, I had to learn how to make a living other than through music. Steem helped me, crowdsourcing websites helped me and that's how other talents like literature and even web development began to surface in me. The dream of playing in some European orchestra was a thing of the past, that Miguel who wanted that was in the deepest part of my being, hidden, extinguished before the weight of reality, always alive, but defeated.

Living in a country with a humanitarian crisis forces you to rethink what is really important in life. When bread is a luxury and buying ice cream is a frustrated dream, playing or not playing an instrument becomes completely insignificant. When you come home, and you see your son and wife sitting at the table waiting for you to eat, you understand that what is really important is love and full stomachs. I stopped caring about the methods, as long as the end was legal, My goal was to bring the food to that table and provide the quality of life necessary to provide all the love and food necessary for our child to grow up healthy and strong.

However, a second economic crisis knocked on my door (or rather... knocked it down with a battering ram), the crisis of the crypto currencies. Market conditions were less and less favorable, so I had to reinvent myself... again. And that's what I'm going to talk to you about in the next publication.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://miguelvargas.org/musica/i-studied-mozart-but-i-ended-up-making-hip-hop-i/

Sort:  

Este Post ha sido votado por @gatillo y curado por @bebeth para @steempress-io


https://discord.gg/AgtNh53


Ya que utiliza el servicio de hospedaje de WordPress de @reveur y el plugin de @steempress-io para publicar contenido en nuestro idioma, el #castellano, si deseas saber mas o formar parte, haz click en la imagen para entrar a nuestro discord.

Un proyecto de @nnnarvaez

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD/STEEM share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community.

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto or help us out with a delegation!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello @miguelvargas, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

ohh! Thank you so much for the upvote dear @creativecrypto!

Hi @miguelvargas!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.514 which ranks you at #6314 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 6316).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 234 contributions, your post is ranked at #47.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64629.11
ETH 2670.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81