This is how I sound like on TV! :D

in #music6 years ago (edited)

3 months ago, I was approached by a local music producer, asking whether I'm interested to record a demo. Of course I went ahead to give it a shot, even though i knew they already had someone else (other singer candidates) in mind. In fact, they already have a full recorded version of the song by another female singer which I think it sounded good. So I was wondering.. why do they still engage me when they already have the complete demo? Anyway, didn't think too much so I just went.

You see, I'm not vocally trained nor I have much recording experiences, so I was abit gancheong (nervous) yet excited! 😂 So before the recording day, I did some homework:

  1. Listened to the demo for several times to familiarize with the song structure & melody
  2. Understand the meaning of the lyrics
  3. Have a picture in your mind
  4. Sing the story of the song.

That's a goal I set for myself each time - to sing your own version of the song.

I always think that the technicality of a song can be trained and might eventually sound the same for every singer, but to be able to carry out the heartbeat of the song is not something that can be theoretically trained, because everyone has a unique voice & heart, so the way you carry the song will distinguish you from being different from others. :)

Turned out, they chose my version! Hallelujah praise the Lord! After a zillion times of re-recording again and again for hours (yes, recording is a loooonggggg process), you know your effort is paid off once you've heard the final product. :D

I must say this is a new milestone in my singing journey. Am very very grateful to have this experience & opportunity to sing the main theme song for this local Chinese drama titled <<"钱" 途茫茫>> The Easy Path that aired last Oct on NTV7. I've never imagine my voice to appear as an OST track of a drama, tho I've secretly wish it. 😜 Its definitely not my preference/usual style to sing genre like this, but I tried my best and I believe it was a good try. All of my friends (yes, literally all) said it doesn't sound like me. My brother even asked whether my voice is auto-tuned. Hahahaha

窗 Window

Lyricist 作词人: 洪馨杰, 蔡子 Chai Zi
Composer 作曲人 : Max Chia Wei
Arranger 编曲人: Kong Xian Ming
Rapper: Simon Chan
Mixing & Mastering engineer : Billy Ong

If you're interested, here's the drama trailer.


APP.png

CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

wow! this is so cool! you're a celebrity lah. what else is left to achieve leh. OST also recorded liao ;)

I really like the part where you described that we have to personalise the song. of course you couldn't have worded it better - carry out the heartbeat of the song! our audiences in the end would like to hear our version. thanks for the reminder! :)

p.s. so was it auto-tuned? :p

100% tulen leh haha 😄 Yes personalize the song, thats the word! It is not easy (for me la), especially after we've heard the song again and again and we will tend to follow exactly how the singer sings it, without processing the song on our own. I'm still learning this too. So have to always tell myself to keep trying & exploring, so that can improve along the way :)

hahaha! ok ok. tulen. pure. good job oh! it's nice to have a friend that's in this musical journey together. let's do this! try. explore. improve! :)

Yeah same here too! Let's continue to try. explore. improve! :)

Great to know that you are the voice of the song! Congratulations to your achievement

Thanks for your encouragement kokuryo!

Because they heard you are good so of course must try out new talent. So proud of you.

Thanks Ps Jade. The initial one was also good! Maybe they're trying out new voices. Haha but yes, am very thankful for the experience. God does hear our secret wishes! :D

@michelleloh168 it's awesome.. do you have full version of it ? :D anyway i followed you .... :)

Unfortunately, I don't have the full version :/ But thanks jikey for dropping by to listen! Appreciate it much :)

no problem once u have it... remember to share :D

Sure! Thanks jikey :)

Very nice, and good that they have chosen you instead! More to come @michelleloh168 :)

Yea I was happy when I got chosen too. Thanks Connie! Like you said, more to come :)

bila mau organize a STEEM concert? we go support you!

Cannn. Then each of us steem fish, steem vege together also k. hahahaha

HAHAHAHAHA! very creative ah you ;)

Haha cant help 😂

i like how you sound live better!

Is it? Maybe you've heard me sing live more, hence recorded version sounded different. Hehe

Hopefully the channel puts the full song on Youtube. 🙂
Saw this 华语好声音activity.
https://steemit.com/cn/@dapeng/6wugdc
Wonder whether you want to participate.

Yea I hope so too! Ahhh ok, thanks for sharing this @wyp. Will check that out! :D

Saw your Youtube clips singing chinese songs in some events and Sing ! China 😊

Oh thanks for touring around my Youtube! Haha I rarely sing chinese songs, but yea I can try :D

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @michelleloh168 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Wow!!! Such a soft and fine voice. Great talent! :)

Ah thanks for the compliments @shoganaii! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.52
ETH 2989.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71