You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 60 years of my favourite music – from musicals I’ve been in

in #music7 years ago

Oh my gosh, I cannot even express how much I enjoyed this post! It really threw me back into some of my memories of performing. Holy moly, I nearly fell out of my seat at the mention of the guy that refused to wear a jock strap! HAHAHAAA... There's always one of them in a crowd, isn't there? I'm just cracking up over here. LOL

Indeed, some of those am-drams, as you say, can be quite terrible, but the people who perform... ah... well... I've never regret a day of stage time :D

Sort:  

Even when they're terrible, I seem to have the ability to register that with one part of my brain, but nevertheless really appreciate and enjoy them. That's a very handy gift when so many of my friends do theatre. After all, the whole point of it is not to be perfect but for everybody, cast and audience, to have fun.

That's so true. And it's kind of timely because I was looking through a local newsletter and saw a community dinner theater and thought, WOW, that would be so much fun! But I'm often torn with having fun in the audience or wanting to audition for the next musical. The brother/sisterhood of music and theater is really magical. I miss it sometimes.

It's a huge time commitment, and we have already have Steemit for that! That's why I like the choir. I get the joy of the music and the fellowship, but the time commitment is just one evening a week, during the school terms.

I have yet to find a local group to sing with since we moved to Florida. Most of the groups I would want to audition for are anywhere from 1 to 2 hours commute and that's a lot for once a week commitment and then all week during performance week. About 2 years ago I had a good talk with myself. I grieved a little and "retired" my voice. I don't regret it. Other things have come along that I enjoy just as much. But some days... I miss it sometimes.

I read somewhere a couple of days ago (probably on Steemit!) that in agrarian societies everybody sings, in some other kind that I can't remember some people sing. In modern society nobody sings. We gotta turn that around!

Didn't know you are performing as well. Seems like I've recently surrounded myself with few talented artists and actresses.