Playing Guitar: Pick vs. Fingers

in #music7 years ago

Some people prefer to play with fingers, some with a pick, some (like me) use both. Listen to the differences in this video.

IMG_8596.JPG

IMG_0068.JPG

Sort:  

It's crazy they both have a different vibe for sure. I use apick for the rockier blues and finger picking otherwise.

Very cool. I switch back and forth quite a bit.

Today is the first time I have seen your posts. Followed you instantly. Picks vs fingers ..... i like both best. Thnx Mel . Many blessings

Thanks so much! I'll follow back. More to come! ✌🏾😊

Well sometimes with fingers it can be a bit muted. But the flexibility is there. I play the classical so fingers are the mainstay.

So cool. I like classical guitar-don't play it, but it's a beautiful sound.

If you're a classical player you should be aware of using your nails to avoid that "muted" tone. Personally I find my nails make for brighter tone than a lot of picks.

Well usually classical players use nails. We shape our nails to a suitable angle and length. There is no other way unless you are talking about sungha jung's style. That is fingerstyle.

Fingerstyle lends itself to more subtle nuances like dynamics and tone, so with classical and flamenco you have tremendous variation. In contrast, pick styles like most fusion or jazz to rock can be more aggressive in terms of attack and tone. You can still use both like hybrid style using a pick but also fingers as well. I believe Strunz & Farah do this using nylon string guitars but predominantly with a pick.

Yes, great observation. I like the guitarist from the Civil Wars for finger style too. Thanks! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63283.09
ETH 2463.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54