A Song For My Cat - English version

in #music4 years ago (edited)

Last month, as my current thoughts suggested, I decided to dedicate a song to my cat.
But there is no cat at home.
Anyway once I had a cat in my home. It happened twice in my young life.
The first was Biondino (Blondie), because it was blond indeed, and stayed with me at home in Cagliari (Italy) for almost one year.
After it ruined the most of my mother's wardrobe with its little claws, we decided to donate it to a friend who had a wide courtyard.
The second was Denghy, it was a gift from a girl, still in Cagliari.
It was so small that I had to nurse it with a mini baby bottle obtained from a dropper.
About 24 old, me and that girl were in a nice syncronicity.
Also Denghy, once grown up, destroyed many blankets and some coat, so it was donated to another friend who also had a wide courtyard where the cat would live happily ever after.
The name of this cat came from a dialectal south Sardinian term that means 'so tender'. One is called 'dengoso' when very often hugs or sticks together with someone.
Unespectedly this song came out now, in 2020 for an unknown recondite reason.
A song for my cat

This song was written just to be forgiven
for all the stupid things already done
it spreads right on the staves to regulate
the standards and the measures of my cat

There's no one in this world who can condemn
the unusual situation in this moment
unless before someone can understand
that feline's odd and mysterious objective

But then when he moves close to you
assumes a 'dengoso' behaviour
'dengoso' is a word that means tender
a dialect they speak in the South

So every time somebody makes some harm
this animal is blamed to exonerate
because all the maliciousness is done
was surely inspired by a beastly temper

The day I arrived very late at
the important appointment I had
it happened because of my cat's fault
I've lost all the sense of my time

But maybe I wrote this song for some allegoric reason. The magic enigmas that lead to what I did were unknown to myself.
At the beginning I wanted to do a minimal version with only voice and guitar, then for voice, piano and bass, but in the end, thanks to the advice of Sandro, a friend of mine, I also put a drum and some organ, strings and guitar. Actually the track got better.
Now some English friends heard it, so I would like they can understand it.
So I decided to write the English version, that keeps the same prosody, changing some words to try to reach the same significance.

GattoArtEnglish.png

Sort:  

Thank you for using your ATOM to get a manual upvote from @MusicVoter2 via our Discord.

Let me pour you a !DERANGED !BEER
Don’t drink too much though or you’ll need a !COFFEEA in the morning! !TRDO

Find out about our $1000 STEEM Prize

Earn more ATOM tokens listening to independent music on AtomCollectorRecords.com

!giphy cats




giphy is supported by witness untersatz!

coffeea Lucky you @maurofiligheddu here is your COFFEEA, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com Vote for c0ff33a as Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58589.32
ETH 2636.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45