A Closer Look at My Cigar Box Guitar

in #music7 years ago

23275511_1787745234603208_406103813398550838_o

Here's some photos I snagged of my most recent build before it was donated to the local PBS station for their televised fundraising auction. I nicknamed it "Oliva."

As you can see, it's a three-stringed instrument, with volume and tone knobs connected to piezo pickups that run out to a standard 1/4 in jack on the side. It plays both acoustic and electric!

The fretboard is actually a new touch compared to previous builds. I used to paint frets onto the neck, but on this one I actually created a fretboard with a walnut stain, attached it to the neck, and then engraved the frets. The headstock also has my logo laser engraved on it.

I don't get the chance to build these very often anymore with my schedule, but when I do, it sure is fun! The guitar sold in their auction, so I hope whoever has it now enjoys making twangy blues with it.

Sort:  

Beautiful instrument. I'd love to hear the sound it can produce. How long did this take to make?

Thank you! Visit this previous post to hear it played: https://steemit.com/music/@mark.feuerborn/testing-a-cigar-box-guitar It took me a little under two weeks to build.

Hi @mark.feuerborn,

I just wanted to drop in and give you an encouragement upvote.

Your guitar are awesome sounding and looks really dope!

I heard about you building them from you dad (When he drop by to visit my post and replied)

Peace ✌ & 💖 love!

Hey Josh,

Thanks for stopping in and checking it out! I hear you've got a maker space where you're from - it'd be interesting to see how yours compares to the one I build these at. I appreciate the comment, I'll follow you - would love to see what you're working on there!

Sounds fun!

Nice, it has a clean sound. I'm not sure how to explain it. But very refreshing.

Cool looking guitar. How much would one of those cost?

Thanks, and I generally sell my guitars for anywhere between $150-300, it ultimately depends on how much extra custom work the client asks me to do on it.

This post has received a 3.40 % upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @gregory-f.

This post has received a 12.50 % upvote from @sneaky-ninja thanks to: @gregory-f.

This post has received a 5.37 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @gregory-f.

This post has received a 4.46 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @gregory-f. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50