Leader of the Band by: Dan Fogelberg (A Song Cover by LYXNG) ^___^

in #music7 years ago

It's me again! Here's another heartwarming classic. I hope you enjoy it guys :)

Leader of the Band
by: Dan Fogelberg

An only child alone and wild,
A cabinet maker's son
His hands were meant for different work
And his heart was known to none

He left his home and went his lone
And solitary way
And he gave to me a gift I know
I never can repay

A quiet man of music,
Denied a simpler fate
He tried to be a soldier once,
But his music wouldn't wait

He earned his love through discipline,
A thundering velvet hand
His gentle means of sculpting souls
Took me years to understand

The leader of the band is tired and his eyes are growing old
But his blood runs through my instrument and his song is in my soul
My life has been a poor attempt to imitate the man
I'm just a living legacy to the leader of the band

My brother's lives were different
For they heard another call
One went to Chicago
And the other to St Paul

And I'm in Colorado
When I'm not in some hotel
Living out this life I've chose
And come to know so well

I thank you for the music
And your stories of the road
I thank you for the freedom
When it came my time to go

I thank you for the kindness
And the times when you got tough
And papa, I don't think
I said I love you near enough

The leader of the band is tired and his eyes are growing old
But his blood runs through my instrument and his song is in my soul
My life has been a poor attempt to imitate the man
I'm just a living legacy to the leader of the band
I am a living legacy to the leader of the band

(c)

Love. Love. Love.

Sort:  

WOW

Hahaha! Thanks for taking time to listen to my version :)

Salamat

When you going to do a cover version of Mahal Na Mahal Kita song?

Bindisiyon ka ng panginoon!

Salamat rin po. Sino pong original na artist nun?

Salamat maraming.

Laging kang ngumiti

Ingat ka palagi po!

pag-aaralan ko yang kanta. thank you! :D

Your very welcome. I used to live in Makati a few years ago whilst travelling. So I haven`t spoken in tagalog in a long time now!

hahahaha! It's very flattering to know that you once lived here. and even used our language. Bless you!

Oo I enjoyed my experience there, always great memories. I have retired from been a Bolero nowadays haha and bless you too.

hahahaha! you were a bolero? that's good to know. I wonder how many filipinas cried because of you. :)

Thank you for getting this out. @lyxng

My pleasure @deepweeb :)

This is incredible! Love it. @lyxng

Thank you so much @dawnasheelagh :D

Good to hear from you. I like the song too actually.

Youre welcome. I really enjoyed it.

This post received a 46.68% upvote from @morwhale team thanks to @lyxng! For more information, click here! . this is @originalworks .steem @steemprice BTC

$3722.86 USD/BTC
Volume: 85977.03 BTC ($320080181.2 USD)
Last Updated Fri Sep 22 04:39:03 2017

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lyxng to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

This post has received a 0.31 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Resteemed by @steemvote - send only 0.5 SBD to get your post resteemed to 1,5K follower and receive Bonus-Upvotes



OMG :D Was that you singing?

If so, you are really good. I think you have one beautiful voice.

In all honesty, I think you have a lot of potential, but I'm not sure if many people know that song. Make a more popular cover, and I think you will really be able to soar :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63033.54
ETH 2434.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54