Learning to Read for Comprehension

in #music6 years ago

About a week ago, I shared some of my favorite life hacks with y’all. While those were hacks that I have been using for some time, the habit of reading while listening to 432 hz music is a recent phenomenon.

You may be wondering, what does a tuning of 432 hz have to do with anything? That was certainly my thought when I first heard about it, but then again I am not trained as a musician - our friend, @creatr, who does have some skill in that department may already know about this.

Without sounding too much like a new age person, music tuned to 432 hz is the natural vibration of the universe.

Our minds have thought waves that range from 14-40hz, and our dna oscillates at 8 hz - vibrations are a built in mathematical piece of the created order.

According to the harmonic principle by which any produced sound automatically resonates all the other multiples of that frequency, when we play C at 256 Hz, the C of all other octaves also begins to vibrate in “sympathy” and so, naturally, the frequency of 8Hz is also sounded. This is why (together with many other mathematical reasons) the musical pitch tuned to 432 oscillations per second is known as the “scientific tuning.” 1

Are you curious now? Well, after reading about the mathematics involved, I decided to find some videos on YouTube and let them play as I was relaxing. As you will find out when you play the video I have included, 432 hz is what we listen to while receiving a massage - it is incredibly peaceful.

Being someone who likes to raise the bar, I had the thought of listening to this meditative music while I did my daily reading - the results I am finding are staggering.

You know how you can read something and then a few minutes later not remember what it was? Do you ever have trouble summarizing the author’s main points after an hour’s worth of reading? Well, you might enjoy reading with what I call massage music in your ears then.

Ever since I started this habit, my reading time has been much more productive. My thoughts are clear and I feel more engaged with the writer. The ability to take in information and assimilate it has never been easier. I’m actually excited to take some more theology classes now with this tool in my repertoire.

Please do give the video above a try and let us know in the comments how it helps you or if it doesn’t work at all. There is always something we can learn from one another.


Image Source: 1
Video Source: massage music

Sort:  

I played the video while I read your post. Very relaxing and interesting idea. Autonomous sensory meridian response comes to mind. I've used it on a few of my videos in the past.

Autonomous sensory meridian response comes to mind.

That is a mouthful, lol. I did some initial research and it looks like you are onto something there. :)

ASMR is a quite well established method amongst practitioners to quell the restless mind. Many therapist use these soothing tones during therapy sessions.

It all sounds a bit hippie but there is some sound scientific basis to it.
Here's an example I made last year.

I used to do a fair number of ASMR videos. There are so many types, that people claim can really help them relax or sleep. Really helps for insomnia.

Wow, I don't know if it's just that you convinced me and won me over, but reading the rest of your post as I was listening felt good and powerful to me.

Sounds like it worked! I am glad to hear that.

Always something interesting to learn from your blog today it was more amazing as always :) thanks for sharing it

I clicked on the video and Muse Cat came up and began purring, and then placed his paw on my arm - I'm not sure what that means, but at least he didn't try to knock the laptop off my lap, so that's something :)

Very good recommendation, I think it's sung by a choir of angels. Receive a big hug @lydon.sipe

great post thanks for sharing that.👍👍👍👍👍
i invite u to see my post u will like.

Congratulations, your post had been chosen by curators of eSteem Encouragement program. Feel free to join and reach us via Discord channel if you have any questions or would like to contribute.


eSteem Line
Thank you for using eSteem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64036.76
ETH 2647.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78