Celebrating NZ music throughout May: 6 – Allison Durbin / Kunoichi

in #music6 years ago

Two gorgeous women today. We step back 50 years to 1968’s Loxene Golden Disk Award winner. Then hop right back to this year to give some love to our own Steemian @kaykunoichi.

nz-music-month.jpg

I know Allison Durbin for just one song – her cover of Morgana King’s “I Have Loved Me a Man”. (And actually, I’d never heard of Morgana King, or heard her version.)

Youtube says:

Number One single for two weeks in September/October 1968. One of New Zealands best loved and remembered songs of the sixties and popular Loxene Golden Disc Winner that year.

So I quite surprised to find out she’d been quite active prior to this song, and went on to have a long and successful career, partly in NZ but mostly in Australia.

From 1971, “Baby Without You” with Australia’s John Farnham

If you want to read more about her, head on over to this article.

And if you want to check out the original, here’s Morgana King’s version.

Back to present day

And now some brand new music from @kaykunoichi from Auckland, NZ and @acthepd from Los Angeles. Go to this post and scroll down to the bottom for the first track off the album they’re working on together.

Just above that, there’s a track by Kunoichi and Pody Cameron.

I know she has more music on here and had a bit of a look back, but haven’t found anything else yet. Maybe she will share some links in the comments…

Thanks for listening

Videos from Youtube. Top image is the official logo and appears everywhere. This copy came from Eventfinda.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for the retro sounds @kiwideb. I can get into this.

I can find retro sounds galore... How was the weekend trip?

Great. I found wifi here and there on the mountain so it wasn't completely unplugged. I just got back now. Thanks for your tunes. I saw your new post but will have to check tomorrow. It's time to crash:) ♥

Have not checked out the Steemian sound yet but I think I managed 30 seconds tops on these tunes.... made me want to pass out :( :( ... for me that sound was the worst of the 70's ... a mix between pop, folk and country and western... sort of music without an identity {shiver}

I'm aiming to showcase all sorts of different styles of NZ music, so not everything i post will be to my personal taste, but hopefully there will be a bit of something for everyone over the month. I didn't much care for the duet, but the first one was one that I heard a lot when I was 10, so is embedded in my psyche. The funny thing is, I thought that if anything, people would find the theme of it more objectionable, rather than the music. I thought the juxtaposition of Allison and Kunoichi was an interesting illustration of the difference 50 years makes. (pop over to Chat at some stage if you have a minute.)

At the office, so only check Steemit now and again ... will check out chat and c if u around.

Absolutely loved this musical trip down memory lane @kiwideb Alison Durbin has a great voice. I hadn't remembered that she sang with John Farnham (another one of my favourite singers.) They sounded great together......and what about the long boots and mini skirt? Works well when you have a pair of legs like Alisons. Thanks for sharing.

Yeah even when I was young and comparatively skinny, I never had legs like that ;-) Though if I could magically get either her voice or her legs, I'd take the voice.


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Beautiful tracks mam thanks for sharing ❤❤👌👌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45