Celebrating NZ music throughout May: 3 – Split Enz & Crowded House

in #music6 years ago

Yesterday was talented sisters, today it’s talented brothers Tim and Neil Finn. Although they both have solo careers, they’re probably best known for their two bands Split Enz and Crowded House.

nz-music-month.jpg

Split Enz

Split Enz was founded in 1973 by Tim Finn and Phil Judd. They were considered to be New wave‎, ‎art rock and ‎pop rock. Their first two albums Mental Notes (1975) and Second Thoughts (1976) didn’t do a great deal, and there was a change in line up in 1977. Some of the founding members left and new members including Tim’s brother Neil Finn joined the band.

Their third album Dizrythmia (1977) had one hit, “That Was My Mistake”, which wasn’t known much outside of Australasia. Let’s have a listen to that now.

The big hit from their 1979 album, Frenzy, was “I see Red”. There are so many great songs from these brothers that I’m not including this one, but if you go back to my Muttonbirds post, @kiwiscanfly posted a link in the comments to a performance of this song with the NZ Symphony Orchestra that’s well worth a look.

Their next album True Colours was released in 1980 and had two singles “Poor Boy” and “I Got You”, which we’ll check out now.

The most well known track off their 1981 album Waiata (released in Australia as Corroboree) was “History Never Repeats”.

They released three more albums before they disbanded in 1984. Time and Tide (1982) included “Dirty Creature” and “6 Months in a Leaky Boat”. Conflicting Emotions (1983) included “Strait Old Line” and “Message To My Girl”. Great songs all!

But we’re going to finish up with “I walk away from you” from their 1984 album, See Ya 'Round

Crowded House

In 1985, Neil Finn founded a new band with Australians Paul Hester and Nick Seymour. Later band members included Neil Finn's brother, Tim Finn, and Americans Mark Hart and Matt Sherrod. While I liked Split Enz, I am more of a Crowded House fan, and they DO have more hits to choose from, so let’s get started.

The hits from their debut album,Crowded House (1986) were “Don’t Dream it’s Over” and “Something so Strong”. Let’s start with Don’t Dream It’s Over, which was another feature of the choir’s kiwi concert last year.

Temple of Low Men (1988) produced “Better be Home Soon”

They really started making their mark with their 1991 album Woodface. It featured five singles "Chocolate Cake", "Fall at Your Feet", "Weather with You", "Four Seasons in One Day", and "It's Only Natural". Out of those, I’m picking Four Seasons in One Day. This is live 10 years later.

And the rest of the album was just as good. (Ok, I’m a fan, right?) So let’s have another one - "There Goes God", also live.

A massive seven singles were released from 1993’s Together Alone, including "Distant Sun" and "Locked Out". Here’s an acoustic version of Distant Sun

But I also have to include my favourite from this album, Private Universe

Crowded House disbanded in 1996 and Neil and Tim both had solo careers, as well as performing as the Finn brothers. But they later reformed with a different line up to produce two more recent albums - Time on Earth (2007) and Intriguer (2010). Here’s Saturday Sun from Intriguer.

In 2016, Crowded House were inducted into the ARIA (Australian Recording Industry Association Music) Hall of Fame. They have won 13 ARIA awards during their career.

Solo careers

This post is already way too long, so if you want any more from their solo careers, I’ll leave you to research that yourselves.

But I’ll leave you with some news from last month. It was announced that Neil Finn would replace Lindsey Buckingham for an upcoming Fleetwood Mac tour. Read more here.

Featured on the NZ Music Month website today

No new video here today. Just as well, it gave me more room to blather on about the Finn brothers!

Thanks for listening

Videos from Youtube. Top image is the official logo and appears everywhere. This copy came from Eventfinda.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

Holy cow - Spliz Enz split in 84? OMG I stood right in front of them playing their funky new song "Dirty Creature" live once...

34 years and it just seems like yesterday...

Little horror here to stay
Anyone in his right mind
would tell it to go away
but the river of dread runs deep
full of unspeakable things
The creature don't mess around
I don't want to mess with him


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

this is what we call great music still alive after 34 years 🤗🤗

Yes, I wonder how much of today's music will still be considered classics, after 35, 40, 50 years. I think there is still some great music, but maybe not as much.

Aaaaah, lovely to hear some Crowded House. I didn't know they were from NZ! (Didn't fancy the Split Enz stuff so much though.)

I think NZ music is more widespread than anyone realises. I keep finding more musicians that I never knew were "ours". I know what you mean about Split Enz. They were very quirky at the time, and never one of my favourites, though I liked them. But the music is very well known here, and such an important part of our musical heritage that they have to be featured. :-)

this is a great post. they are singers of legends and have beautiful songs. thank you for sharing :)

They're definitely kiwi legends!

You have covered this well - I could listen to them all day everyday

I like a little more variety than that ;-) but there are certainly a lot of their songs I could listen to over and over again.

Bloody hell debs... slow down with all the muzik. I still on day two. The Muttonbirds very listenable, will give them some more listening. Funny enough when I first started listening they reminded me a biy of Crowded House. Crowded House were a big hit in South Africa and still get a lot of airtime here.

I can't slow down! {gibbers} there's a shit load of kiwi music and only 31 days in May... But yes, probably can't keep up this pace, maybe every second day. After all, there is another May next year.
Maybe there's a certain kiwi sound that they have in common ... ?

wow, mam this is so cool and beautiful 😊😊

Glad you're enjoying our kiwi magic ;-)

Old is gold i think

You said exactly the same thing on my music post two days ago. If you say it again, I will get very cross. So just don't, ok.

Don't you realise that sabbir ahmed is a playboy and a proffetional YouTube Marketer and Steemit Creator from Bangledesh?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52