Celebrating NZ music throughout May: 27 – A Touch of Classical

in #music6 years ago (edited)

It occurs to me that throughout music month, we’ve covered many styles, but not classical. Sunday seems a good day to feature a few. Some of these I’ve covered in older music posts, but let’s pull a few of them together into one place.

nz-music-month.jpg

Dame Kiri Te Kanawa

Probably New Zealand’s best known opera singer, I’ve previously featured her singing Puccini’s “O Mio Babbino Caro”. But I just found this – my favourite song by her! I first came across “Bailero” from Songs of The Auvergne when Torville and Dean skated to it. Not be confused with Ravel’s “Bolero”, which they also skated to.

Hayley Westenra

Hayley came to the world’s attention at the tender age of 16. Here she is singing “Hine E Hine” live on Parkinson.

Helen Bowater

Helen is my cousin, so it’s rather sad that I have no understanding of her style of music. But she is a highly regarded composer. Here’s one of her pieces for violin, Lautari. (EDIT: To clarify, she is the composer, not the violinist.)

Linden Loader & Katherine Austin

Katherine Austin is Helen’s cousin on the other side of her family, and is a pianist. This next clip is from a Lunchtime Recital Series and features mezzo soprano Linden Loader, with Katherine accompanying her. Its 48 mins long, so most of you will just want to listen to a little bit in the middle, I imagine.

Linden, being a close friend of my cousin Helen, sang at my aunt’s 90th birthday a few years ago, so I have had the pleasure of hearing her at close quarters.

Jack Body

But we don’t just have female classical musicians here. Jack Body was another friend of Helen’s. Wikipedia says:

Jack Body (1944 – 2015) was a New Zealand composer, ethnomusicologist, photographer, teacher, and arts producer. As a composer, his work comprises concert music, music theatre, electronic music, music for film and dance, and audio-visual gallery installations. A deep and long-standing interest in the music of non-Western cultures - particularly South-East Asian - influenced much of his composing work, particularly his technique of transcribing field recordings. As a tireless organizer of musical events and projects, Body had a significant impact on the promotion of Asian music in New Zealand, as well as the promotion of New Zealand music within the country and abroad. In 2015 he was named a New Zealand Arts Icon, the highest award given by the New Zealand Arts Foundation and the first composer to be so honoured.

Here’s one of his works played by the NZ String Quartet.

Yerevan Trio

And to finish, here’s a group of young people who were the winners of the 2016 National Final Chamber Music

Thanks for listening

Videos from Youtube. Top image is the official logo and appears everywhere. This copy came from Eventfinda.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.
If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

A very beautiful and very touching classic song.👌

Ooooh you do have some influential musical connections @kiwideb
I could listen to Hine E Hine over and over again especially sung by Hayley. The backing is superb. What a beautiful voice she has. Where is she living now Deb and is she still singing? We don’t get to hear of her in Oz.

Your cousin Helen is certainly a very accomplished violinist. I do prefer other instruments played with violins unless a section of music calls fo a solo feature.

You’re very fortunate being able to listen to Linden play the piano. I have often wished for my own pianist to play me to sleep on my many sleepless nights over the years.

Thanks for sharing this talented group of musicians with us Deb. 🌺

I realised I wasn't very clear, and have had to edit the post. Helen is the composer, but not the violinist!
Hayley's most recent album is 2013. It looks like she occasionally performs, but not sure what else she's up to.
Hmm, not sure that piano would lull me to sleep. When I have those kinds of night, music just waked me up more :-(

Helen is very talented to be able compose such amazing music. As for a piano to play me to sleep.....the music would have to fall into the relaxation category. I'd prefer to keep the dramatic classical type for the daytime. (:

So some takeout from day 27 ....### What took you so long to get to Dame Kiri Te Kanawa? ### I kept meaning to ask "What about...."

Secondly you have a very talented cousin...obviously runs in the family.

thirdly...ethnomusicologist... good grief, is that another word for local music? Or tribal music? ...I shall look it up.

I had already featured her in one of my previous posts, so I kept thinking of people I hadn't featured before. Then all of a sudden it was the end of the month looming, and she was still on the To Do list.

There are a number of talented musicians in my family. I'm not one of them. But hopefully I make up for it with loads of enthusiasm.

I suspect tribal music, maybe from a range of backgrounds?

While we had a tidy up this morning, we played a bit of Enzso..actually quite a bit..
Image result for enzso

That would have been most enjoyable!

Amazing post!

Thanks for sharing the musical life from the other side of the world!

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. You can find details about us below.

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto or help us out with a delegation!


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

very good musical performances

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51