Celebrating NZ music throughout May: 25 – Marlon Williams / Unfaithful ways / Delaney Davidson

in #music6 years ago

Just when I started to get a bit short of inspiration for music month, something turned up that got me excited again.

nz-music-month.jpg

Featured on the NZ Music Month website today…

… Party Boy by Marlon Williams. There’s something about his voice in this song that reminds me a bit of Chris Isaaks.

Wikipedia says:

Marlon Williams (born 31 December 1990) is an award-winning singer-songwriter and guitarist from Lyttelton, New Zealand. He has performed solo as well as with current backing group the Yarra Benders (Imogen Porter, Troy Davis and Kyle Reid). He first came to attention as front-man of The Unfaithful Ways and has also performed and recorded as a duo with Delaney Davidson. Williams' music style straddles folk, country, bluegrass and the blues.

Ooh, I like this one too. Although his voice is nothing like, the feel of this one, “Vampire Again”, reminds me somehow of Tom Waits.

His studio albums are Marlon Williams (2015) and Make Way for Love (2018). I was enjoying his more recent stuff, and wanted to share What's Chasing You, which was a bit poppier, as well, but dragged myself away to check out his first album. Here’s “Dark Child” which for some reason made me think of Johnny Cash.

Let’s check out some of his early stuff with his first band, Unfaithful Ways. Here’s “Katie My Darling” which is more pure country than some of his more recent work.

And from his body of work with country singer Delaney Davidson, “Bloodletter”

And finally for the die hard country fans, let’s have one of Delaney Davidson’s solo works, “So Far Away”. Even though I’m not particularly a country fan, this did start to grow on me by the end.

Thanks for listening

Videos from Youtube. Top image is the official logo and appears everywhere. This copy came from Eventfinda.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.
If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Hey @kiwideb,

You've been doing these NZ Music posts so steadily all month. HUGE Congratzzz and Thank you. I now have them to study and enjoy more about your country's music.

Just when I started to get a bit short of inspiration for music month, something turned up that got me excited again.

Wonderful!!! I'll be playing some of these while I work today, Deb. Thanks again.

Thanks for posting these Deb. I thought Marlon Williams sounded a lot like Bob Dylan in the ‘Katie My Darling.’ Nice song.

Great selection of musical artists! Thanks for sharing them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51