Celebrating NZ music throughout May: 16 - Nesian Mystik / Scribe / Trillion

in #music6 years ago

You’ve probably noticed that most of my musical tastes are pretty last century. So it would be fair to say I’m no expert on hip hop, rap or any kind of urban music. But that’s not to say I haven’t come across artists in this genre that I’ve liked.

nz-music-month.jpg

Nesian Mystik

It seems to me that, back in the day, rap had some rhythm and wit. But that more recently, the rhythm has been lost. (Having said that, I’m not usually checking it out, so I might be being quite unfair.) Anyway, when I heard some Nesian Mystik, I was impressed. MuzicNetNZ website says:

Nesian Mystik is Polynesian culture merged with RnB, Hip-Hop and Reggae. From feel good club hits to conscious poltical messages; Nesian Mystik does it all! The diversity Nesian Mystik harnesses creates a sound that is uniquely their own, better known as Nesian combining Rap, soulful harmonies, scratching and guitaring that has become their signature.

They released four albums between 2002 and 2010. Here’s “For The People” from the first album “Polysaturated”.

And here’s “Nesian 101” from the third album “Elevator Musiq”

Scribe

MuzicNetNZ website says:

Scribe is undoubtedly the shining star of New Zealand's much celebrated young hip-hop scene.

And though it’s not my gig, even I can hear he’s pretty good at it. Here’s “Dreaming” from his first album “The Crusader” from 2003

From his second album “Rhyme Book” released in 2007, here’s F.R.E.S.H.

Trillion

I prefer Trillion to Scribe myself, but maybe just because I like his politics. Not all his songs are topical though. He’s pumped out a massive 18 albums and EPs between 1998 and 2016, and another four with band Dark Tower, between 1995 and 2005.

Here’s “Water Crimes” (about water fluoridation) from 2009:

Here’s something we can all relate to - “Work” by Trillion & The Broken Heartbreakers from 2013.

Check out more on his Youtube channel here

Featured on the NZ Music Month website today was…

… nothing! After the last couple of days, that’s rather a relief. But there were a couple of other NZ music posts today:

• Compatible with today’s theme is @podycameron’s latest post - a beat he made in 2015, inspired by 90s style hiphop
• But for something completely different, more nostalgia from @ravenruis

Thanks for listening

Videos from Youtube. Top image is the official logo and appears everywhere. This copy came from Eventfinda.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.
If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

Sometimes I need to hear THE DATSUNS!

Yes, that is vastly different...

"Trillion & The Broken Heartbreakers " ....hmmm, any relative to Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers ? {smile} .... will give these a listen later, especially Trillion ...

Maybe Tom was his inspiration... Just so you don't run out of listening material while I'm away {cough, cough}, I'll be putting up one last post soon.


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52