Who is Rich Brian?

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Formerly known as Rich Chigga, Brian Imanuel is an 18 year-old teenager from Indonesia who is going places with his dope beats, hard lyrics, and music videos with clever use of juxtapositions. You certainly don't see a scrawny Asian dude sporting fanny packs and pyjamas everyday, swearing and rapping like he's Ghostface Killah.

Also, his team does it without any need for make-ups and photoshops to cover his acne in the music videos. Breaking conventions in every sense is clearly a good way to stand out. Anyway, I think the art goes deeper than that. To better understand this phenomenon, check out one of my ancient Steemit posts on The Rise of Vaporwave & New Age Aesthetics. Well, at least that's what I think from a curator's point-of-view.

It's amazing that he learned most of what he's using today just by consuming loads of Youtube videos, from speaking the English language to grokking American humour. Some might get turned off by the explicit lyrics, but that's just the rap game, yo. Also, I love his deep and deadpan vocals. It's working wonders for the cloud-rap genre.

Below are some of my favourite music / concept videos with Rich Brian in them. The last two videos - a documentary and a hot-wings interview are pretty interesting too.

The last that I really dug into rap beats was one of Drake's mixtapes back in ~2010. Rich Brian's tight tracks certainly makes me wanna dance on the streets again with loud music banging.. but I think I might be too old for that now lol. How about you?

Sort:  

Dear @kevinwong

I wanted to inform you of an opportunity that #promo-steem has for @sndbox and other major projects on the steem blockchain.

We are the media partners for the London Crypto Currency Show on 14th April. In return for this, we have managed to get our hands on 14,000 usd of promotional access in the form of 2 x hour long presentation seminars and one 4 x 3m exhibition stand.

Instead of using the presentation time and exhibition stand to ourselves we decided to let the major projects and notable steemians use it. So we are giving away talking spots and the opportunity exhibit at our stand for free.

This is quite a big deal since the London Crytpo Currency Show is organised by the London Investors Show, a well-established, long term investing exhibition which brings in crowds of 2,500 experienced investors through its doors at most events. This is therefore an excellent opportunity for the steem blockchain to make a strong mark at one of the premier blockchain events in the UK, and Europe basically for free.

Please see this blog for further details. I hope you are interested in either sending someone from your project to talk at one of the seminars, supporting the event or spreading the word to other major projects or notable steemians. https://steemit.com/promo-steem/@starkerz/exhibition-opportunity-call-to-steem-projects-at-london-crypto-currency-show

I look forward to hearing from you!
@starkerz

he is one talented guy and rap lovers are with creative and fress lyrics makers

Damn this kid is freaking talented. How come he hasn't gone viral? His songs are dope and they literally got me off my seat and on my feet dancing.

To think that he learnt all he does for. YouTube video makes him a genius to me. Not everyone learns that way. This is cool and I would get to downloadbthe audio versions of these songs later today for my listening and dancing pleasure.

The high point for me is knowing he learned all these from mere watching YOUTUBE videos endlessly. wow! What a boy what a talented! Thanks for this @kevinwong

He has an audience and that is Asia and the western audiences follows, great for the younger generation.

Nice! Always kool to see a genuine person walking the walk within their own dream making it more real with every step. Chin up, feet forward and focusing on the dream becoming a reality. Thanks as always for enlightening me friend. Enjoyed.

“I’m 18 now and women can legally have sex with me.”

Really! lol Intersting guy. I can tell his deep voice doesn’t quite match the teenager it originate from. He is quiet outspoken as a He’s a rapper, but get this, at the same time he’s an Asian nerd. Yes, you are completely right “You certainly don't see a scrawny Asian dude....”
Obviously he is a YouTube ⭐️

Haha i thought that line was a bit too far out and forced, but okay xD

Oh yes, excellent tracks and rap music was also in my youth. This is the music of the streets and many, I think, were addicted and are now addicted to this genre. Thank you @kevinwong, I definitely visited my youth!

He's super viral among teenagers these days. First heard about him and 88rising from this article: https://pitchfork.com/thepitch/1537-inside-88rising-the-company-behind-rich-chigga-and-his-asian-rap-comrades/

Yeap, caught the right bug :)

Close your eyes and listen to these vocals. There's absolutely no way that you are gonna imagine an 18yo bloke from Indonesia

Haha, let alone anywhere else, actually.

Hehe yeah! That too

What an amazing son of Indonesia, proud to be Indonesia!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64122.04
ETH 2745.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66