Who Can Sail? (Gorgeous melody from when I sang with an internationally-acclaimed children's choir as a kid)

in #music6 years ago

I sang in a children's choir for 8 years, and we ended up travelling all over Canada and then into Europe when I was 13, competing at a prestigious festival in Catalonia, Spain--and winning!

These are precious memories from my time with the choir--I largely learned musical excellence, phrasing, dynamics, the beauty of melodies and words.. in that choir. We wore uniforms, perfected to the tiniest detail, and the director treated us like we had real responsibility and capabilities; I learned I was capable of so much.

I am indebted, and often forget (there are so many people to thank in life!).

This song came back to me this afternoon to share--something of a simple, beautiful lullaby, sung quietly because that's where the song comes to life, I think. The lyrics are below.

Who Can Sail?

Who can sail when the winds won't blow?
Oars are needed for rowing
Who can part with one's heart aglow,
Part when your tears are flowing

I can sail when the winds won't blow
Need no oars for my rowing
I can't part with my heart aglow,
Part when your tears are flowing

xx,
Kay
.
.
.

Would you like to hear me in my "regular" style in an original I wrote for this week's Songwriters Challenge? Or hear about my upcoming writing trip to Southern California?

Your support means a lot to me. Thanks for following @kayclarity and resteeming if you enjoy posts about beauty, art, culture, life, Steemit, and, of course, my original music and poems. xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72