California calling: writing trip #2

in #music7 years ago

In June, I wrote an article about going down to LA for a writing trip with some friends of mine from the record label we used to be on together. They are a music duo and own a studio as well, and we have wanted to work together for a while.

Now it's chapter two!

I just booked tickets to spend some time down in Southern California for a break from the winter while doing some music work and scoping out some charities I have been wanting to work with in 2018 if I can find the best way to do so legally as a Canadian. It is looking like that will include the finishing of some songs we started together in June.

As I mentioned then, life in the music industry is strange and all-consuming and casual to the max; writing trips include walks to the beach and driving through LA traffic, as you tend to do life together in order to be able to work well together creatively.
I have been wanting to start writing articles about my experiences in the music industry again (I worked with some high-profile execs a few years back but left when I could see it wasn't the right fit) as well as the songwriting process, so this trip will be a great starting point. Hopefully you'll look forward to that, and I can be disciplined enough to write about it!

I'm really excited for some much-needed sun; I'm in Canada, and it's COLD and I'm in a basement apartment with not very much natural light, so it's hard on my body. Doctor's orders (actually) to try to get in the sun for a few days to stay on the getting-better track I've been on since the spring; VERY handy I can have the chance to go and get this while also getting some important work done at the same time.

IMG_7976.JPG
Malibu Beach?! Why you gotta be so perfect?

IMG_7977.JPG
Nice pretend candid walking shot with tacky beach towel

IMG_7978.JPG
I saw sand crabs for the first time in June. So. Cool.

IMG_7980.JPG
Bougie smoothie place.

IMG_7981.JPG
Lots of pretty things grow there when irrigated.

IMG_7983.JPG
Bored selfie while waiting for my smoothie and my friend.

IMG_7982.JPG
More interesting plants.

IMG_7984.JPG
Me living the life and trying to pretend I'm "LA."

IMG_7985.JPG
Trying to get a cool sunglasses shot.

xx,
Kay
.
.
.
.
.
.
P.S. Going to put up my entry for this week's Open Mic tonight or tomorrow, but for now you can check out my song for this week's Songwriters Challenge or a picture of the Eastern edge of Canada from my music tour in 2016.

Your support means a lot to me. Thanks for following @kayclarity and resteeming if you enjoy posts about beauty, art, culture, life, Steemit, and, of course, my original music and poems. xx

Sort:  

Hi, I'm Daniela and I play guitar and piano ... follow me and I'll follow you to help each other

Honestly, follow/follow-back doesn't really work here. Just post good content and sincerely get to know people.

I would say that we on the West Coast are fortunate to be above 0°, Enjoy! You got some great shots, thank you for sharing with us :)

You definitely are! Although it's funny--I realize I would miss the winter if I ended up somewhere where it's always warm as well. The snow is so very pretty <3! xx, Kay

Take me with youuuuuu! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57102.05
ETH 2348.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33