The Birthday JamsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music5 years ago

events-1885263_640.jpg

I have been telling myself to get into a group and start jamming regularly on the piano, but it's not as easy as it sounds. First of all, it's summer here and jams stop or attendance drops while we get out there and enjoy the weather. Then you want a jam that's at a suitable level for you.

My jam choices have been between a beginner's guitar group and a group that is far too advanced for me. Even the philosophy is different. In one, you want everyone to play. In the other, you listen and decided whether there is anything you can contribute or not.

The Birthday Jam

Luckily, attending open mics means I'm meeting more people. So I was looking forward to this birthday jam where my piano's presence had been requested. And I was in a group of competent players. We went downstairs and no sooner did we plug in our instruments then dinner was ready. Everyone headed out to the barbecue on the deck.

We came back inside and started to jam; 3 electric guitars, 1 Beatle bass, 1 drummer, 1 tambourine player, and me on piano. AND IT WAS LOUD! So we turned things down a bit. Still too loud. Ah, blues - predictable chords. You could hear the piano. Then someone requested a song I sang at the open mic. Okay. That went well enough. Next, were a few songs I didn't know. Then a Beatles song. Would I sing again? Sure, I can sing "Yesterday." More songs. Back on the piano I struggled to find the key. I was asked to sing "Happy Birthday." No, I won't sing it like Marilyn Monroe! I sang "Happy Birthday." We were having fun.

IMG_9385.JPG

We got the call for dessert and back we went upstairs. It's strawberry season so we munched into strawberry shortcake and watched a storm blow through. Then we headed back downstairs. We played a song or two then I was asked if I could sing "The Girl from Ipanema?" Sure, I can play or sing it, but it's one or the other. I was thinking these guys have pretty eclectic taste. I went out to my car because I happened to have the sheet music with chords they could use. We got part way through the song - 15 big chords there.

Then someone noticed
the birthday boy was missing.
Where is our drummer?

We turned to look at the empty kit. He had pooped out and gone to bed! And I hear this wasn't the first time he has done this. Birthdays sure must be tough! That also has a ways of breaking up the party so we lingered for a little as we disassembled things. Okay, maybe we were expecting it to last longer but another interesting jam.

smalleststylized keyboard.png

References

My 2019 Music Goal, Part IV - My 1st Groupie!
My 2019 Music Goal, Part III
My 2019 Music Goal, Part II
My 2019 Music Goal, Part I

Images

First Image by SKARD band from Pixabay
Drum kit from my Canon SX620 HS.

Follow footer.gif

@kansuze

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62521.03
ETH 3025.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97