My 2019 Music Goal, Part IIsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music5 years ago

hands-1851500_1280.jpg

Three months ago, I wrote a post about my 2019 music goal. I said...

This year, I'm going to sing and
play the piano at an open mic.

Since our local legion had closed its Friday night jams (and we're all lost on Fridays now), I joined the local blues society and have been attending their monthly open mic and making friends. I also bring my camera - isn't this, below, a cool photo?

IMG_8816.JPG

Now there are certain songs where I always sing backup and nobody hears me in a noisy crowd. But three weeks ago and late in the evening, most people had left and I was standing near the musicians when I started singing. One of the hosts heard me, grabbed a microphone, and whipped it in front of me! So I sang backup into a microphone for the first time and I surprised some people who didn't know I could do that. (Heck, I wasn't even sure! I mean, I knew I could carry a tune...)

smallme.JPG

My friend the bass player, knowing I was reluctant to sing, later said not to worry because I was on pitch. (Well, I hope so. Isn't that a minimum requirement?) But he said that what I did was more difficult than you think. And a week later, one of the ladies looked at me with admiration and asked when I would sing again. She said I looked and sounded professional [confidence booster].

IMG_8788.JPG

So that was unexpected, but I'm planning to sing at the next jam in June. I'm doing Peggy Lee's "Fever" with the band behind me and it should be fun. I'm already wondering what to sing next.

Above, somehow the singer ended up over in the dark corner.

I haven't been bringing my piano but if I mention I play, I'm immediately invited to bring it and join in, and I'm just not ready for these guys, but I have been working on other songs and I have discovered Ramsey Lewis. My next big piece will be his version of "The In Crowd" and it will be a blast to jam with that. It's "jam worthy." lol

IMG_8971.JPG

A funny thing that night, I wore my cool leopard shoes and someone noticed they matched a guitar case. They wanted me to pose with it. Too bad I don't play the guitar because it looks good! lol

smalleststylized keyboard.png

References

My 2019 Music Goal, Part I

Images

Photo 1 - Pixabay, Photos 2 & 4 - @kansuze, Photos 3 & 5 - S. Vanveit

Follow footer.gif

@kansuze

Sort:  

Beyoncé has nothing on you @kansuze... good for you! I could never sing in front of anyone.. lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

You just need to hang out with musicians. :-)

Congratulations on reaching your goal early!

Thanks, but that one barely counts and I have to do it with the piano. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63439.39
ETH 2545.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66