[MARATHON BLOG 21] 20-Mile Run Completed: Thoughts on the Mind, Muscles, and Music.

in #music7 years ago

YahikoRun.JPG
At the destination--Yahiko Shrine, Niigata, Japan.

Well, it was a lot harder than I thought it would be, but well worth it. I feel like I learned some important lessons about mind, muscles, and music.


Yesterday I endeavored to run farther than I ever have in my life. I broadcast my intention here on Steem and, as usual, putting the words out there, committing myself to something for all to see, helped to cement it in my mind that I was going to finish. Mindset. My mind was set.

Something that really jumped out at me in the middle of the run, though, was how much it is the mind that determines things. Even at 17 miles, when my poor body had given up, I noticed that if the song on my headphones was right, and I was in an "I am going to do this" wave of thinking, I could run faster and press on more steadily than when, for example, I thought maybe I had lost my way on a mountain road, and could not see the goal, or a song I did not want to hear at the moment came on.

The fatigue in my muscles had not changed, but in so many ways, it really was my mind that was more important than the state of the muscles in my legs, in regard to finishing the course. With each turn, a new mindset would come. When my shoe came untied on a dangerous part of the coastal road as cars whizzed by, dangerously close, I noticed that my mind was full of thoughts like these: You can't do it. This is silly. This is too dangerous. You didn't plan well enough.

When I found myself at an open stretch of road with a beautiful view of the mountainous, golden-green September landscape, thoughts like this would come to me: You got this. This is awesome. Wow! Look how beautiful this all is!

The most important thing I learned (an observation that has come to me many times) is that one must press on, regardless of the "feeling buzz" or lack thereof.


When I found myself on a strange mountain road, or running in what appeared to be the wrong direction--losing sight of Mt. Yahiko--I could feel myself considering giving up. At 13 miles, as I fought through tired, tired legs and hurting ankles, I actually began to tear up. Weird shit was coming out. Buried shit. All the pains and frustrations of my recent past that I had been trying to keep at bay just fucking began to seep out. I was sure this was my "wall." Muscles aching, teary-eyed, and not sure if I was on the right path, I actually felt better than I ever have in my life, in a strange way. I felt I was at the "bottom," in a place of just raw determination. I was amazed when these feelings of fatigue subsided considerably and I was able to keep running. I did not know my body was capable of such a thing. Or my mind.

Music.


I started my long run this time listening to Beethoven. It was fantastic. Running by the sea while piano sonatas and fifth symphonies flowed through me and seemed to actually be part of myself and my surroundings. This was excellent. I cannot really describe it, so maybe a quote from a favorite book will do. The following is an excerpt from a novel by Carson McCullers, called The Heart is a Lonely Hunter. Music is a central theme in this story, and I really like this passage where Mick, the young girl protagonist of the story describes hearing Beethoven:

How did it come? For a minute the opening balanced from one side to the other. Like a walk or march. Like God strutting in the night. The outside of her was suddenly froze and only that first part of the music was hot inside her heart. She could not even hear what sounded after, but she sat there waiting and froze, with her fists tight. After a while the music came again, harder and loud. It didn’t have anything to do with God. This was her, Mick Kelly, walking in the day-time and by herself at night. In the hot sun and in the dark with all the plans and feelings. This music was her – the real plain her.


Now, onto more training, and living life in the same way I ran. When shit gets doubtful, just keep putting one foot in front of the other, knowing that your goal is inside you, and when the feeling's good, run with the wind to that fuckin' mountain shrine!

~KafkA

(Thanks for stopping by. If you missed the last installment of MARATHON BLOG, number 19, you can find it HERE. If you want to know why I am keeping this blog, and the inspiration for starting such a record on the blockchain, you can find the first MARATHON BLOG post HERE.)

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

You must be sore the next morning, but breaking records is always awesome. Another achievement and memory you can keep for yourself on a personal level. A trophy of confidence is always welcome.

Love this comment. thank you.

inspiring man!

Awesome!! I always found my "wall " on marathons (I've done three) to be anywhere between Mile 17 to 24. You got this (although, i know you already know that , just felt like saying it).

The encouragement is always appreciated! Yeah, that first wall was extra discouraging because I was only just over 13 miles and thought THIS is my wall!??! Heh. I hit a couple more later though, and it was arguably hardest around 17. Needless to say, I got some more training to do.

What is the longest long run you plan to do in prep? There are obviously a lot of schools of thought out on there on it. .... most don't recommend longer than 22-24 miles then a taper 3 to 4 weeks following up. But in mine I never ran More than a 20 miler in prep then a 3 week taper. You hit what sounds like a mental wall at 13. I would have to honestly say that most of the "walls " are 99% mental. If you can run 20 miles now, wow that's great. Not to be cliched but the last 10k is the hardest.... mostly mentally. I mean i aint saying your legs and body aren't going to be feeling some pain. I guess my point here is, you're probably in a lot better shape than you think ,yeah you can ptobably fine tune some things but the rest at this point, all mental. You are doing awesome. Keep up the good work, i mean running =)

I'm gonna do maybe one more 20 mile run and then start tapering down two-weeks prior.

I guess my point here is, you're probably in a lot better shape than you think ,yeah you can ptobably fine tune some things but the rest at this point, all mental. You are doing awesome.

Thank you. Means a lot to have support from someone who gets it.

=)
Look forward to hearing how it all turns out. Sounds like a smart plan doing one more 20 miler

I had read the Summit within of HP Ahluwalia's climbing mount Everest....summit of mind and summit on climbing Everest..how mind push your body....how you have to fix your mind before and in the mids of struggle....the mental struggle is higher thn the physical struggle..you have to prepare your mind in every step of your foot..and after finishing your goal you feel something like winning the battle...all couldnot do this ...
You achieved the goal means you are a winner....great ...i now know your steps will never be back...salute....

Thank you! This is good stuff! I'd like to read that book as well!

nice post @kafkanarchy84, i really like your attitude towards life and that is "never give up", if you have a goal and vision to achieve something than this vision gives more energy to move forward and person should work in a way of never quit, i am glad you decided to train yourself more and then come back with more power and energy to achieve your goal i also like to mentioned the quote by "Jack Ma" "never give up today is hard tomorrow will be worse but the day after tomorrow will be sunshine". thanks for sharing

OMG! You are great. Heads of to your will power I feel very proud myself, you are my friend. Seeing you, you don't know how much I have inspired friend.Realy some people have done more for you, yes you support me much in steemit community, but in reality in my life you have become an example of inspiration, energy and strength. Yes friend I have got much strength to do every work in my life from you. Thanks for being my good friend, I wish from my heart, you should be achieved everything in life and you deserve it. Have a very good day friend happy steeming.

Thank you for that. You are also such an example. Happy Steeming.

Most welcome my dear friend. You don't believe but I mean it in real you are a genius and inspirational identity. Thanks.

Thank you. It really means a lot to me.

You accomplished something huge. Congrats my friend and you are an inspiration. I know you trained very hard for the race to

Excellent post, very complete, detailed, good pictures, awesome. Congrats

Another great piece of work: well taken photos and neatly written blog. Thanks for all the details. hopefully you are successful forever become an inspiration to your followers.

Great training ! Take care of your muscles.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62507.39
ETH 2451.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64