"Mini bio reboot, photos and videos of what I do, musically and why"

in #music7 years ago (edited)


I started taking piano lessons at age 11, that was 51 yrs ago.
I've never stopped playing, music came to me naturally.
Most unfortunate St pat.s .jpg
Golden Living Center, in Decatur Ga, 2013↑
In 2007, while on an extended stay in the VA Hospital in Dublin Ga, I was asked to play
1 hour each week, for Each of the Nursing Home ward, and the Alzheimer ward.
It was then that I saw first hand the power my music had on the Elderly
Jami Bruni April 2 2013 (2).jpg
↑ The Monclair in Decatur ↑
When I first bought the midi file for "Strangers in the Night" by Sinatra, and since I don't PLAY
on that song, and I wear a wireless mic, I was walking around singing 'to the ladies'
(they really like that)
At the point where the instrumental began, and I was still out on the floor, one of the Ladies
Jumped up and grabbed me, and Away we went (hint, junior don't dance)
Since then, on that or any other song where I'm out walking and singing,
And an instrumental begins, I go to my "Safe Spot" (behind the keyboard)
Saying, "if Y'all want me, you gonna have to come GIT me"

↓Same Song, different Venue, several years later ↓


Here I am walking around, singing to a midi file, being played by my keyboard. I have the lyrics sheet in my hand, and I've coached the residents to sing with me.
The Receptionist is handling my camera, hence the lousy sound quality, THEN the phone rang at the desk, and she stopped the recording, then restarted before I finished, so that there is a blank spot, pity... they were all having a GRAND time, as was I.

I get asked by the Residents, quite often in fact, if I 'know this, or can you play that'
And most of the time, I don't, so I go home and check you tube.
If I can find the song, and it's something I can use,
I learn it.
Here is one example

"Sweet Slumber" by a little known big band from the '30's.
I couldn't play that version, so I kept looking until I found a
Version by Lou Rawls from 1964, so I copied it,
Created this midi, and now it is one of my better tunes.

I put a lot of work in, creating these midi files



When I decide I'm going for a song, I first have to find a version I think I can
Perform, then I have to chart the lyrics, then the chords.
Then I use my keyboards 'built-in' style files, to try and find an accompaniment
Style (drums, horns, strings etc) that is close to the version I'm copying.
THEN, I have to first record those accompaniment tracks (while singing along
In my head to keep track) transfer that file to the computer, before I can
Start building on it.
Here is an example. I'm recording the FIRST guitar track to the already recorded
Accompaniment track, for "Guitar Man" recorded by David Gates and Bread


Here is the finished product, with me singing the lead vocals, AND a
Vocal Harmony I invented


EVERYTHING you hear is me, my keyboard and my computer, no
guitars, no store bought tracks, I created this from scratch.


and so finally, here is this live recording from about 8 months ago:
Two live videos from a single performance at Laurel Grove in Lawrenceville Ga.
What I found surprising, just before the instrumental break in "There's a Kind of Hush"
where I say "Now everybody sing" ( and we all go La, La La Lala La La) since it is
someone in the audience taking the video, you can hear the Residents singing,
and THEY DON'T STOP! They sing all the way through to the end of the song



Sort:  

I'm a musician too. Enjoyed reading your story and watching your videos

Thank you @travelingdiva. It's good to see other Troubadours
Where do you ♫Play♪♫? What instrument and type of
♪♫Music♫♪? I am always curious. Steem on!

I sing opera. I'm planning to put up my first post in a day or two! Hope you'll take a look when I do

♫I will most definitely give it a try (to find your post that is).
My first cousin Charlotte (Rogers) McElroy, was a
Classically trained Opera singer. She sang
At the White House for Pres. Nixon
Once. I played on one of her
Recordings, I'll try to shoot
The Youtube link to you
If you are interested ♫
(it's just audio)

Wow- definitely interested! Please do send!

Here you go @travelingdiva
My First cousin, Charlotte Rogers McElroy, was a trained operatic singer. She sang for Pres Nixon in the White House.
Many years later, after she was diagnosed with serious heart and lung disease, she came home. About a year or so before she died, she made a recording of an assortment of songs. She paid a studio in Nashville, my sister went with her to drive, and she also sang harmony on three of the songs.
On this one, I recorded the piano as a midi, which she carried with her to the studio and recorded herself singing along with my piano playing.

Wow- THANKS so much for sharing! I really appreciate it! She sounds great! What a beautiful song too! And that's some very nice piano playing on your part! Bravo!!!!! Again, thanks for sharing- I really appreciate it!

I went to your site, and you haven't "started blogging yet" according to Steemit.
When you do post something please come give me a link.

I sing opera. Will be posting some videos soon!

Congratulations @jerrytsuseer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Lovely piece and story. :)

♫ Thank you so much @zararina, I am happy you enjoyed it! ♪♫

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59907.23
ETH 2647.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43