Diamonds and Rust. Original VS Cover.

in #music6 years ago

Back in 1974 Folk artist Joan Baez penned the song "Diamonds and Rust" which she later revealed were about her former lover Bob Dylan. The song was later covered by the heavy metal band Judas Priest. Wait.... what? Covered by a heavy metal band you say? Yes I do say and they it to a whole different level. Almost unrecognizable as the same song but still infused with the raw emotion provided by the original.

All I can say is take a listen and hear for yourself.

For some information on the song check out the Diamonds and Rust Wikipedia page.

Awwww! Don't they look cute together?

This was back when leather was cool.

This one was a tough call for me because the first version of the song I heard was the Judas Priest version and I loved it back in the day. I remember playing it on the guitar for my dad and he just looked at me and said "What the fuck?" give me that guitar. He then proceeded to play the Joan Baez version. I was blown away. That day he taught me the Joan Baez version and I showed him the Judas Priest riffs. What a memory!

I think I'm going to vote Joan Baez on this one. The guitar playing is a bit more technical due to the fingerpicking techniques required.

Which one would you vote for?

I'd love to read your comments below.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jbreheny! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 500 replies. Your next target is to reach 600 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

well I had never heard the judas priest version before. I am going to have to vote Judas Priest lol Over the top as fuck

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62907.73
ETH 2531.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62