"Invention," by Keaggy, King, and Denté: An Album Review

in #music6 years ago

I bought this album as a teen shortly after it was released. At the time, I was a bit disappointed. My musical taste was about as developed as a kid whose idea of "Italian food" is frozen storebought pizza. But I kept it instead of selling it, and it has grown on me. In fact, one of the songs is one of my absolute favorites now due to the lyrics.

The trio of guitarists who created this album are Phil Keaggy, Wes King, and Scott Denté. As a result, this album has largely been dismissed into the oblivion of "Contemporary Christian Music," which is widely considered a morass of bad music and worse lyrics. There are bands and albums that should transcend this categorization though, and this album in particular isn't even blatantly religious in nature.

Keaggy has been in the music industry for decades, but after his early mainstream rock and roll success in a band called Glass Harp, he embarked in a solo career in the Jesus Music movement. He has been a prolific songwriter and musician, and has created many albums of purely instrumental music along with his more typical albums showcasing his songwriting and singing.

Wes King was never a major face in the CCM scene, but has created several albums and worked behind the scenes as a songwriter and session musician or guest artist, especially in the 90s when this album was produced.

Scott Denté and his wife Christine formed the band Out of the Grey, a CCM duo. Whether you like the music genre or not, the lyrics must be noted as deepr than average, and the guitar by Scott is definitely above the norm.

The Album

[Invention] is largely an instrumental work. Only a few songs have vocals. I think that is the main thing that threw my teenage self for a loop. I was exposed to classical music and folk music, but this was very different.

Watch My Back


The first track does have lyrics. This is the song that I remember hearing occasionally on the local Christian radio station in Minnesota where I grew up. I still think it's a decent tune all around. It is also the most religious, drawing parallels to spiritual warfare and the need for brotherhood with those who can support one another in life.

Isle of Skye


The second track is a mellow instrumental piece with slight hints of Celtic influence and a largely acoustic sound. Like some of the other instrumental tracks, this feels like it could be in a soundtrack for a film as background music.

The Moors of Bellevue


This track switches to a driving electric guitar. Despite the slower tempo, I think this song could result in absentminded speeding if you're cruising down the highway without cruise control. It has a good groove.

River of Life


This is a rather evangelical song, and I think I remember this one getting CCM radio airplay. It's a good song, though. It also has some nice crunchy guitar work. Give it a listen.

Budapest Control


This is an odd instrumental bit. There are elements of Eastern European music here and there in this track. Again, it sounds like it could perhaps fit in a film soundtrack. I think there is an EBow creating some of the stranger sounds, too.

Angel Treads


This is another mellow instrumental track with an acoustic guitar vibe. Not the kind of thing teenage me liked, but adult me has a much more favorable opinion if I am in the right mood.

More To Be Revealed


A more subtly spiritual song, the lyrics reflect thenpeocess of opening up to a new life. To be honest, I don't really like this one. It feels like it's trying too hard to feel sincere. But maybe I am jaded and grumpy. Your mileage may vary.

53 days in June


Anither acoustic-dominated track with occasional electric guitar lead, this one is hard to categorize. I dig it, but it is different. It grows as it continues into a wonderful noise, like it is swelling to a triumph, before slowing down again into a groovy interlude. The it returns to the jamming guitars again, and repeats themes again as it swells to a close.

Perspicuity


The title is a synonym for transparency, clarity, lucidity, or intelligibility. The tune is a fun jazzy smooth melody with occasional scat singing vocalization as another instrumental element.

The Quote Jester


This short tune is a series of variations on a theme with simple acoustic guitar instrumentals. Good stuff, and over too soon.

Something, Somewhere


This is the song that has stuck with me the most. Instead of claiming to know everything, it proclaims,

Well I would like to say everything works just one way,
And I'm sorry, but I can't.
'Cause all the answers are not at my command,
So I'll fly with what I know,
But I'll step lightly where I land.

I think these are words to live by. Don't claim to know everything. Stand by eternal truths, but be open to possibility, and don't ignorantly stomp all over things you don't understand.


I'm sure the album can be found wherever you get music, whether in digital or physical form. It certainly sounds better through a good CD player and good speakers than over internet, and if memory serves, this is one of the early 24-bit HDCD recordings offering higher dynamic range, so the proper hardware may make it even better still.

I apologize for any typos. Composing a long post on a smartphone is not easy.

Sort:  

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Ubwoading me PLs

When you comment, make it about the post on which you are commenting. Create conversations. Followers and upvotes will follow from that. On the other hand, spam comments begging for attention tend to get flagged, and your account is filtered out if sight. Be a good citizen of the web. Create content and make conversation. Don't harass others.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 14 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 9 SBD worth and should receive 93 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

It looks like your link leads to a phishing site designed to steal login info by spoofing Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46